Recieving a Taxi Cab Station

Status
Not open for further replies.

cabdriver

I drive a cab for a living. We communicate with a dispatcher by radio to get fares. This is the radio in my taxi: http://www.rmiradio.com/product.cfm?pID=1171

My goal is to be able to listen to dispatch activity while I'm chilling out at my house. That way I'll know if we're busy or not, or if there is a call right in my neighborhood. Basically it allows me to leverage my off-time better. I think this is possible because I've been told Yellow Cab frequently steals our fares using handheld scanners.

We use two different channels on our radios. Channel one will give you a "call point", or a street intersection. When you arrive there you switch to channel two and another operator will give you the specific address to pick up the passenger. Channel one periodically announces, "This is KJE 330 United Cab, etc, etc". I assume that is the frequency I want to tune into. As far as channel two, I don't know if they're on that same frequency or not, but channel two is obviously being scanned by other cab companies (very obvious if you pull up to a house and a Yellow Cab is sitting there. Of course they might have called two cab companies in which case both cabs just leavehttp://www.radioreference.com/forums/images/icons/icon9.gif
Unhappy).

This is about all I have to go on you all. Is that what I need too, a scanner? If so, any recommendations? My dream would be to have a powerfull outdoor antenna pointed to the taxi dispatch station.

bravo14

Premium Subscriber
Not sure what state or city you are from. If the other cabs have scanners and listen in and steal calls think they can get in trouble. I do not know what band your radio does if you get a scanner you can try to do a search and some cabs are scrambled some other encryption or trunking systems.

Last edited:

cabdriver

bravo14 said: