Windows Vista and Scanner Programs

Status
Not open for further replies.

mess_85_1

Okay,

I'm looking at getting a new computer for my "shack". I have yet to have seen or played with anything VISTA related. My concerns are compatability with my current set ups. I frequently use ARC15 and ARC396/996 to program and control my digital scanners. Are there any issues with doing that? Or would I be better off getting one built with windows XP Pro. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!!

windchaser

and i just got a hp lap top with vista. o well thats the way life goes some days. windchaser usmm ret.

mikeydcg2003

Being a Computer Tech, I recommend XP all the way. Vista has so many unresolved issues and the software has been tested on xp and it is known to work the best on it. Most of the big box companies such as HP, Compaq, Gateway and Dell it's getting harder to get xp boxes.. Build your own if you can or have a small outlet that builds them do it for you. You will get a quality product and you will have someone other than a best buy geek to fix your pc if it dies.

brandon

Database Admin
All of those programs work with Vista. You may have to tweak them to run as "Administrator" since UAC can be a PITA but they do run.

Many people say bad things about the OS but if you set it up properly it runs well. Create a custom Vista CD using vLite and you are able to remove a lot of the bloat from it. After doing so, Vista runs extremely well on my 2 year old laptop.

iMONITOR

Silent Key
Premium Subscriber
You can still buy brand new computers with XP. If you already purchased a new computer with Vista, Microsoft is supposed to have an exchange program where you can send in your Vista, and get XP.

Vista has been a big failure, and Microsoft is finally seeing the light.

mess_85_1

nope, havent bought yet...still looking at all of the options. and trying to figure out how much pc i actually need, might need, and just plain want. lol

Tim-in-TX

Premium Subscriber