RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Georgia Radio Discussion Forum

Georgia Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Georgia.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2009, 6:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Rockdale County Scanner

Is anyone else having issues hearing the Rockdale County Scanner? I was just wondering if it is my computer.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2009, 10:09 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Unhappy Rockdale county feed

I sent a private message to you re: Rockdale county feed. I am having problems too but the admin is working on it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2009, 7:57 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Default

Have the Rockdale county frequencies changed recently? If so could someone provide them?
thx! We live in gwinnett but like to listen to Rockdale!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2009, 7:39 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Rockdale scanner

I was told Rockdale wen't digital..not sure when, but I guess it could be the problem. So I have been looking for an affordable digital scanner
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2009, 1:24 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Conyers, GA.
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msimp09 View Post
Is anyone else having issues hearing the Rockdale County Scanner? I was just wondering if it is my computer.
Yes I'm also having trouble and I have been all over the county with my 346XT and I got nothing. Someone help us out.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2009, 7:24 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Question RE: Rockdale county feed

Could it be that they have changed frequencies IF they haven't changed to digital?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2009, 5:52 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 5,109
Default

Have you bothered to check the data base here on RR?? The two CC's in red are in the 852Mhz range. Are you running those??
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2009, 7:10 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Default Re; Rockdale county feed

I hate to be a bother. I am not familiar with scanning too much. All I know is we have been listening to the Rockdale county feed through our computer from "Cindun" who has so graciously been providing the feed. We live in Gwinnett and can't pick up the signal from here. Cindun can no longer hear it on their scanner in order to provide the feed- It could be equipment related ; we just know that we can't hear it and wish someone would maybe volunteer to provide a feed or help "cindun" find out why she is not getting a signal so she can continue to provide this feed!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2009, 8:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N8IAA View Post
Have you bothered to check the data base here on RR?? The two CC's in red are in the 852Mhz range. Are you running those??
Larry
I dont have a scanner at all..after I could no longer hear it and talking to people about it, someone said Rockdale wen't digital. So no I have not BOTHERED to check th 2 CC's in red etc. as I have no scanner (yet). I only posted the question to begin with because at the time it was showing the scanner online but no sound so I was just checking with others who may also listen to Rockdale.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:21 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Default

Yay! My husband worked on our scanner and found out-it works. Rockdale isn't digital. He used the frequencies on the database page in "Red CC"/ But he said as soon as he went to trunk mode he couldn't pick up anything !
Hope this info helps. He is just guessing that they may have changed control frequencies but again he said it is a guess.
We live so far away it is difficult to hear real clear most of the time; so maybe it will be on the radio reference again soon!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:33 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 90
Default

Rockdale has complete the initial step of Rebanding for the system.

800MHz Rebanding Resource
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 9:31 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 5
Default Rockdale has not gone digital

As far as I know, Rockdale has no plans to go digitial in the near future. Now, if Rockdale gets a new sheriff in the next election, then that may change.

Last summer (2008), Rockdale began rebanding their signal, but, as far as I can tell, any trunked scanner can still pick them up. In some rebanding, the channel frequencies change and only some trunked scanners will pick them up. I don't think this is the case for Rockdale. I reprogrammed my Pro-96 with the new frequencies last summer and have no problem picking them up.

I did speak with one Deputy Sheriff that said that Rockdale was going to be going to a North Rockdale and South Rockdale talkgroup at some point. I have seen a talkgroup ID on occasion (1320?) come up and dispatch say, "You are on Rockdale South". I don't know when this will be fully implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:08 AM
nunyax's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Walton County, GA
Posts: 262
Default

Rockdale has definitely rebanded and some older scanners won't follow the control channel. My BC245XLT will lock onto the control channel but never detects any activity. My BCD396T set in "control channel only" mode followed the activity with no problem.

After an hour of monitoring, the frequencies I saw in use are:

856.1125 - control channel
857.5625
856.5375
851.4875 - not in RR database
851.9125 - not in RR database
856.5375 - not in RR database
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 11:15 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Conyers, GA
Posts: 5
Default

Interesting. Thanks for the input. The rebanding that Rockdale did was somewhat confusing based upon what I have read about rebanding in general. I know people with older scanners that couldn't redefine the channel frequencies and are still picking up activity.

I have seen some new talkgroups in the last few days. 1744, 1832, and 1904 come to mind. Any idea of what those are for?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nunyax View Post
Rockdale has definitely rebanded and some older scanners won't follow the control channel. My BC245XLT will lock onto the control channel but never detects any activity. My BCD396T set in "control channel only" mode followed the activity with no problem.

After an hour of monitoring, the frequencies I saw in use are:

856.1125 - control channel
857.5625
856.5375
851.4875 - not in RR database
851.9125 - not in RR database
856.5375 - not in RR database
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 1:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for all the replies...The other day I called Radio Shack (in Conyers/Covington) to see about getting a scanner and was told "iIf you want to listen locally you need a Digital Scanner & they are so new that we don't have them yet". But I guess they were wrong..lol So does anyone know if I can go to Radio Shack and purchase a scanner that will pick up Rockdale?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 2:17 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msimp09 View Post
Thanks for all the replies...The other day I called Radio Shack (in Conyers/Covington) to see about getting a scanner and was told "iIf you want to listen locally you need a Digital Scanner & they are so new that we don't have them yet". But I guess they were wrong..lol So does anyone know if I can go to Radio Shack and purchase a scanner that will pick up Rockdale?
Yes, depending on what you want (handheld or base/mobile). The Pro-164 is a handheld scanner that works on rebanded systems. The Pro-163 is a base/mobile that works on rebanded systems. They can both be programmed with the USB programming cable (part# 20-047) and Win97 software (which is free for 30 days) at: Software for RadioShack PRO-series (PRO-92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 99, 163, 164, 106, 197) and GRE PSR-series (PSR-500, 600, 300, 400) scanners
If you need help programming, I would be willing to help you with that.
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 2:22 PM
nunyax's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Walton County, GA
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msimp09 View Post
Thanks for all the replies...The other day I called Radio Shack (in Conyers/Covington) to see about getting a scanner and was told "iIf you want to listen locally you need a Digital Scanner & they are so new that we don't have them yet". But I guess they were wrong..lol So does anyone know if I can go to Radio Shack and purchase a scanner that will pick up Rockdale?
I was at the Conyers Radio Shack on Aug. 18 and bought a Pro-160 (cat. #20-160) that was on clearance for $99.97. I live in Walton County (which is digital) and bought the Pro-160 to use as a conventional scanner since it had DCS capability. The salesman there told me that Rockdale had gone digital but since that didn't affect me I didn't follow up on it until I saw this thread. Obviously he was mistaken.

You may want to see if they have any more in stock. It is no longer listed on the Radio Shack website which did show it in-stock in Conyers when I bought mine. I programmed the Rockdale system today and it tracks it just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 5:43 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lawrenceville
Posts: 24
Default RE: Rockdale county feed

Thanks! for all the helpful info!
We have a Radio Shack Pro-94 trunking scanner. We live in gwinnett so the reception isn't real clear.
I sure hope the feed will be on Radio Reference again soon. Up until it went offline I was able to listen to it on my i-phone (Wunder radio).
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 7:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Well I wen't to Radio Shack today and no such luck..I was told since it was discontinued I would have to go to each individual store to see if they had one. All the ones around here are sold out..but I am looking into some of the other scanners mentioned. Thanks for all your help guys
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2009, 10:11 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawvillecitizen View Post
Thanks! for all the helpful info!
We have a Radio Shack Pro-94 trunking scanner. We live in gwinnett so the reception isn't real clear.
I sure hope the feed will be on Radio Reference again soon. Up until it went offline I was able to listen to it on my i-phone (Wunder radio).
Nope, the Pro-94 won't reband The 163/164 are the way to go. I know they aren't on close-out, but they work quite well. I use my 163 to monitor the rebanded Fulton County system.
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions