Beginner's Setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

john-o

I have a cobra 29 WX NW ST that I'm using for a base, and I purchased a Solarcon A99 antenna, and 100' of RG8X 95-1440. In your opinion, is this a reasonable setup for a beginner to learn about amateur radio. I'm a retired truck driver who took my CB out of rig and set it up as a base station.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Forums Manager
John, I've moved your thread to the Amateur Radio Getting Your Licence/New Operators forum for now although I'm not quite sure it's the place for it.

K7MEM

I have a cobra 29 WX NW ST that I'm using for a base, and I purchased a Solarcon A99 antenna, and 100' of RG8X 95-1440. In your opinion, is this a reasonable setup for a beginner to learn about amateur radio. I'm a retired truck driver who took my CB out of rig and set it up as a base station.

Well it's a reasonable setup for learning about Citizen Band operation, but not Amateur Radio. Your transceiver doesn't operate on any of the Amateur bands.

Do you have a Amateur Radio license? What exactly are you trying to learn?

Most people start out with the license. The license is good for 10 years, and is renewable, which gives you lots of time to pick out your equipment and get on the air. You can get a good idea of what the license test is like by visiting QRZ.com. Under "Resources" there is a link to the practice exams. Morse Code testing is not done any more, but as a licensed ham you can still use Morse Code, if you choose to.

The initial license, Technician, will get you VHF/UHF privileges plus some HF privileges. The next class, General, will get you more HF privileges and the Extra class license will get you all HF privileges. If your intent is to operate SSB on say, 20 Meters (14 MHz), you will need either a General or Extra.