GRE PSR-500 or Uniden BCD396T?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K2QI

Hello everyone. I'm a complete noob so please bear with me. I'm trying to decide between these two scanners. I need to be able to monitor P25 transmissions, both trunked and conventional. Does anyone here have experience with both scanners? I'm interested in sensitivity, performance, expandibility, and longevity (future-proof). I plan on programming via software/PC. Thank you.

Junior08

Premium Subscriber
For P-25 audio, the GRE PSR 500 is still, IMHO, much better than the Uniden models. I own a PSR 500, have owned a BCD996T, and have heard the 396T audio, and the GRE's are so much better decoding the audio, it's crisp, clear, I think it's the better scanner in that regard.

scannerfreak

Database Admin
Another vote for the GRE's. The best "right out of the box" digital audio you can get. No need to mess with any settings. Also has much better sensitivity in my opinion than any of the
Unidens. Search the forums here, there are many, many topics on this.

pappy1

Another vote for GRE is that firmware updates is simple, just download the upgrade to your computer and open the file and run per instructions and boom your scanner is updated, none of the register radio, download key that may or not work without doing it a second time, then download update and then going into menu resetting things. Too much hassel. Besides GRE listens to you when you use their customer support, no BS. That is why I gave away my 996. I have not missed it at all.

scannersnstuff

just have to hear it <sensitivity>,audio,digital = psr-500.
features,size,construction,fire tone out,ease of prog.especially trunking = bcd396t or bcd396xt.

love em' both for the different thing's they do.

Last edited by a moderator:

jimg

Premium Subscriber