GRE800 Questions and/or Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

edisonfire

I'm still learning to PSR800. Mind you I started scanning when you had to buy crystals {dates me but I'm somewhat tech savvy} Each time I start the 800 up it brings me to a screen that insists I set the time & date prior to moving forward. I can understand this when I pull the batteries to recharge but this happens when I ;eave batteries in and simply shut it down by holding power button. Is it a firmware/software issue or simply a regular annoyance?

I used to use the GRE500 and one feature I enjoyed on that model was if you heard a transmission but radio began scanning prior to checking the display, by pressing manual it would revert to last active channel so you could see who spoke and/or lock on to listen to subsequent radio traffic.

Is it easier to browse library from onboard memory and then use 800 software to modify and adjust or download RR data into software and transfer to scanner? As far as the scanner software it presents an user-friendly appearance. In the conventional frequency section the channels/objects appear in an Excel like form where I can adjust the column spacing and see clearly. In the Trunked Section I have no control over column spacing such as lengthening the Alpha Tag column so I can see the full name.

I'm sure I'll have more questions so please have patience

AuntEnvy

I'm not sure why you are not charging the batteries with the 800 itself but that may be the problem.

Also, do not plug in or out, the cable, while the unit is on. Apparently this causes problems as well.

And you also have to save your software data or unit/sd card data and settings whenever you leave the menu section or close out the software program, and send the "new configuration" to your card and/or V-scanner folder. I think I said all that correctly... ;)