How Do I Get My PSR-500 To Monitor One Of My Digital Frequencies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jm1977

I am new to digital scanning, and was wondering how I can listen to a single frequency of the numerous ones I have programmed. For instance, if I have multiple police frequencies programmed (P25-auto) and there is a traffic stop that I receive which sounds like it may be interesting, how do I get my scanner to just remain on that frequency instead of scanning to others between gaps in conversation between officer and dispatch?

When I listened to analog scanners back in the day, all that I would have to do is turn the squeltch knob down and it would pause on that frequency until I wanted it to scan other frequncies. But when I turn the squeltch all the way down on my digital scanner, it continues to scan through all of my programmed frequencies once there is a silent gap between conversation.

I also tried the PSE (pause) button and the MAN (manual) button but the scanner always scans to other frequencies after a silence in the current frequency that I am trying to monitor solely. So if anyone can help me figure out how to monitor just one conversation for long periods of time without my scanner scanning other frequencies, I would greatly appreciate it. I am totally new to digital scanners and havent seen anything in my manual yet on how to do this. Thanks a lot!

peter_x

Premium Subscriber
The pause button should work. I don't have my PSR-500 any more, but there was some indication on the display that you had paused it. Do you see anything?

The only other thing that comes to mind is that you haven't programmed a trunking system properly and another conversation is switching to that frequency.

Last edited:

RDGDigital

If you press the "Man" button while the scanner is receiving traffic on that channel then the scanner will remain on that channel until you press the "Scan" button.

grumpy_hermit