PSR-500 trunking issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

m_clark

I am new to the PSR-500, and I have a question...

I am using the ARC500 program. I have programmed in the Illinois StarCom21 system (http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=2324) using the RadioReference import. The issue I have is that when the PSR-500 stops on a channel in this system, it stays for about 1-2 seconds, and then starts scanning again. The audio is clear, and the transmission sounds fine, but it just starts scanning again before the transmission is done. I don't know if there's a setting that is causing this or why it is happening. I don't know if it matters, but I have two priority CONV channels set up.

Thank you.

troymail

Silent Key
Conventional channels set up with priority/priority on may mae it seem like trunked (and other) voice channels seem like they are cutting out.... If you turn off all priority stuff, do you have the same problem?

(I find the priority CONV and weather feature annoying)

m_clark

I know that when it checks for priority it "cuts out" for a split second, and that's ok. What is happening though is that a channel on the P-25 system starts transmitting, and after 1-2 seconds it just stops the transmission and starts scanning again. I would expect the transmission to "cut out" for a split second while it checks the priority channel, but I don't understand why it just starts scanning again as if the tranmission was over when it's not, it seems logical that it would go back to the channel it was on.

I did shut off "Priority ON", "TGRP Priority Interrupt", "Quick Priority Return", and "WX Priority" in the "Global Settings" of ARC500, and that seemed to stop the interruption of the P-25 transmission. I really want to have 2 CONV channels set as priority, though. So, is there one of these settings mentioned that I should not be setting that is causing the problem?

m_clark