Pro-196 and LAPD Frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

KEVK

Hello -- scanner newbie here. I just bought the pro-163 and was looking for some help to get LAPD frequencies to come in. I am trying to get 484.9625 (N. Hollywood) to work but its not. I only hear static if I turn the squelch up. Is there a good guide out there to find how to setup this scanner to recieve lapd frequencies. I have searched but cannot find any.

Thanks,
Kevin

i5adam8

Hello -- scanner newbie here. I just bought the pro-163 and was looking for some help to get LAPD frequencies to come in. I am trying to get 484.9625 (N. Hollywood) to work but its not. I only hear static if I turn the squelch up. Is there a good guide out there to find how to setup this scanner to recieve lapd frequencies. I have searched but cannot find any.

Thanks,
Kevin

I don't think that the 163 will receive digital

SCPD

QRT
Kevin,

I'm a bit confused as you have a "PRO-196" in the title of your post, but then ask about a PRO-163. As far as I know there isn't a PRO-196. The PRO-163 will not decode digital transmissions. The constant rushing static noise you are hearing is an analog receiver (PRO-163) receiving and not decoding the digital transmission of the LAPD. The LAPD has a conventional (non-trunked) digital radio system.

A digital scanner should not be confused with "digital squelch" or DCS. DCS is a digital sub audible signal that allows transmission to have a "code" attached to it that can be programmed into a receiver in a manner that it will only receive a signal with the proper "code." Digital radio signals are entirely different, as they convert sounds into binary (all 0's and 1's) just like your computer.