Hey ExSmokey

Status
Not open for further replies.

fireinoc

Premium Subscriber
Which scanner have you had the best performance with in listening to USFS, CALFIRE, Park Service, BLM, Eastern Sierra Fire departments, etc.

I want to use the same scanner to listen to LA and Orange County Fire as well.

I am thinking of purchasing a Uniden 386XT or a GRE PSR500...any experience there?

Fireinoc

SCPD

QRT
I live in a rural area and I've been using GRE products for about 10 years now. My last two Unidens were a disappointment for me. The BC-785 and the PRO-2051 are the models I didn't like. I like the Starrsoft software and can interchange data from my PRO-92, PRO-96, a friends PRO-97, and the GRE-600s I have.

I mention that I live in a rural area and have a GRE-600 because I've seen comments that the GRE-600 is too sensitive. In an urban area that might be true, but where I live I need all the sensitivity I can get. I'm also using an amplified antenna mounted on the roof peak of my condo about 35 feet above the ground.. I don't really live in a remote location as I'm right in the town of Mammoth Lakes. I do have a 900 MHz FM broadcast station link with the path nearly overhead, so I have a couple of federal VHF High frequencies attenuated to solve the problems I have with the link.