RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum

Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2014, 8:17 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Default Receive only EDACS ProVoice ESK Extended

Is it possible to purchase a ProVoice capable radio and program it to receive only on an EDACS system with an ESK and Extended Addressing?

The system I am curious about is the MBTA (Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority) system. There is very little accurate information about the system out there; I know is a ProVoice system and I would imagine that with a ProVoice capable radio, I would be able to monitor the system with it. The only thing I am unsure of is the ESK and Extended Addressing. There is so little about this system out there, I'm not even sure that's it is in fact using ESK or EA. I have programmed radios for EDACS standard systems but not really familiar with ProVoice, ESK, or EA.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 5:09 AM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 488
Default Receive only EDACS ProVoice ESK Extended

Your best bet is to use a setup of an ESK capable trunking software such as Unitrunker and then use DSD+ to decode the ProVoice. To do this you will either need two scanners with discrimator taps or two capable USB SDR dongles.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 11:50 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,583
Default

In simple terms, NO.

Not if you don't have ESK access.

You'll know beyond any doubt if you have ESK access.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 1:21 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: clarksville,tn
Posts: 346
Default Receive only EDACS ProVoice ESK Extended

I monitor a edacs provoice with esk system where I live I used 2 tapped scanners with unitrunker and dsd. If your interested I might be selling them very soon. Keep in mind after next year Harris has no support for this system so it might be getting updated there very soon


Sent from my iPhone5 using Tapatalk
__________________
own a pro 404, and a bct 8 with a discriminator tap.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 1:57 PM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 488
Default Receive only EDACS ProVoice ESK Extended

Not exactly true regarding the support window. There are certain parts for EDACS that are already NLA and other that will phase out through 2017. There are several self maintained EDACS systems I am aware of that plan to go through 2020 or 2025 before upgrading. Spare parts are very cheap right now to be able to keep a system going for a long time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 3:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks guys,

I do not live in range of the system so I would be looking to monitor via a portable.

I do not have, nor am I authorized to have the ESK or transmit on the system. I do not intend to. I have programmed many EDACS standard radios to receive only without issue.

So, from what I understand, it is not possible to program the radio to receive only if the system has ESK. If the system does not have ESK and it's just a ProVoice system, would it be possible?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 5:42 PM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 488
Default Receive only EDACS ProVoice ESK Extended

While I do not endorse what you describe, there is nothing special or cryptic about ProVoice. If the radio is featured for ProVoice you simply select ProVoice within the Group Set in RPM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2014, 2:13 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,583
Default

Monitoring ProVoice in a regular (non edacs) system is dead simple. Assuming you have the ProVoice option in the radio, that is.

It only requires switching the talkgroups from analog to digital.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2014, 10:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ft Worth, Texas
Posts: 20
Default

Any ideas on why a p7100 would be set for Provoice, show D on the screen, when it receives, it switches to analog ? I have checked settings numerous times and have run out of ideas. I have a Jaguar 700p set the same way and receives fine. This is in conventional mode.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2014, 10:09 PM
Radioman96p71's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Polk County, IA
Posts: 859
Default

Couple things come to mind.

Either the radio isnt feature encrypted for PV, which isn't too likely as they usually work in PV mode conventional.

The RX/TX address values aren't correct and it's not receiving properly.

There is an alignment issue and the radio isn't detecting the incoming signal as digital.
__________________
NMB
------------------
Adam K
Polk County, Iowa
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,583
Default

If the radio is receiving an analog transmission even though the talkgroup is set to digital, it WILL receive the analog transmission.

I make good use of this feature on my own radios. If a department that's currently running analog chooses to suddenly change one of their talkgroups to ProVoice, my radio is able to receive both
as ALL of my talkgroups are set to digital even though 99 percent of the system traffic is analog.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 3:53 PM
Radioman96p71's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Polk County, IA
Posts: 859
Default

That is a very good point that I forgot about Elroy, but i believe he is trying to monitor this in conventional mode as a workaround for ESK. I do know from working on DSD that ESK has slightly different sync bits so maybe the radio doesn't work as smooth as regular EDACS in this fashion?
__________________
NMB
------------------
Adam K
Polk County, Iowa
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2014, 8:58 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ft Worth, Texas
Posts: 20
Default

The radio shows feature 29, transmits in provoice conventional, but for some reason switches to analog when receiving a provoice signal.
For the receive codes, it is set to the default, cant remember off hand what that is.
I assume that is similar to NAC and CTCSS tones for the provoice?
Haven't dealt much with Harris radios. Totally different that MOTO
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2014, 10:02 AM
Radioman96p71's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Polk County, IA
Posts: 859
Default

Yes, the RX/TX address is very similar to the NAC codes for P25.

You haven't said yet if this is conventional or EDACS ProVoice and if it is ESK or not.
__________________
NMB
------------------
Adam K
Polk County, Iowa
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2014, 5:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Home
Posts: 301
Default

This thread may have some answers for you:
EDACS Provoice trunking with a conventional radio

Generally: inverted bits, and setting outside address to either 51 or 172 is needed. Not sure how Extended Addressing might affect that though.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2014, 1:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ft Worth, Texas
Posts: 20
Default

Thank you all for the replys, good info. I will try that.
It is an ESK system with provoice, I am not trying to trunk track it, just listen in conventional mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions