RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum

Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2014, 11:02 PM
Muxlow's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Middlesex County
Posts: 1,663
Default EDACS Warble Tone

Is there a way to program an alert tone to go over the air (on a EDACS system)
Same type dispatchers use for fire pages and what not?

Or is that only possible from a console setup and not possible via a mobile/portable radio?

Either on
LPE200/50
Jaguar 700P/P5100
MDX
EDACS500M
M7100
M7300
Orion
__________________
Muxlow
..Yeah iv got some radios
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2014, 12:28 AM
snoopyII's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: On the other side of the tracks
Posts: 185
Default

As far as I know, its only possible from the console only. Mux...did you get your lost MRU problem fixed??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2014, 10:05 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,581
Default

On the system I monitor daily, the page-out alert tones for the VHF pagers are simulcast on the appropriate FD talkgroups. I am not sure how they're doing that, having no access to the equipment involved with that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2014, 5:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 97
Default

Theres no progamming in the M7100 or M7300 that performs toning. The tones in the EDACS or P25 systems are generated by the consoles.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2014, 6:07 PM
Muxlow's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Middlesex County
Posts: 1,663
Default

Snoopy sadly no i havnt

Sits on my desk and makes me sad
__________________
Muxlow
..Yeah iv got some radios
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2014, 5:31 AM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 468
Default EDACS Warble Tone

To Elroy's point, that is done by bringing the VHF side into a conventional interface on the IMC and then performing a hard patch in the IMC between that conventional interface and the desired talkgroup.

With that said though the paging tones and Alert 1 - 3 tones (including warble) are generated within the console itself as audio. There is no way to do either from standard terminal gear.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions