RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2017, 12:39 PM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 1,042
Default

What is the model of radio. We have seen some of our newest radios that are featured for both EDACS and P25 not actually show EDACS in the feature menu even though it is there. Perhaps there could be a simular issue with yours.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2017, 7:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 292
Default

I've also been told that P25T needs to be enabled in any radio for Phase2 to work,in the same way P25C is required to be enabled with P25T.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,438
Default

M5300. I had it in my last car but haven't figured out a satisfactory way (yet) to hide the front control head in the car so that it's accessible but not visible so it's currently in a box waiting for me to solve that problem.

I know that the P25 phase 1 trunking option is something like 1100 dollars. Which is just retarded.

I'm also curious as to whether or not the M5300 needs hardware added to it to enable the GPS functionality. Or if it's just a feature upgrade only.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2017, 10:42 AM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 1,042
Default

I'm pretty sure the 5300 requires a board for GPS. If it has the board there will be an SMA connector for the GPS antenna.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2017, 8:51 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,438
Default

The GPS connector is present on the back of the radio. I've never opened the chassis to see if there are any option boards in it. I prefer to leave working radios alone.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2017, 10:31 AM
Radioman96p71's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Polk County, IA
Posts: 1,020
Default

If you have the SMA connector then you have GPS. It's not used for anything but OpenSky but you can tap into the NMEA stream from the accessory connector.
__________________
N0MB
------------------
Adam K
Polk County, Iowa
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2017, 7:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,438
Default

And that is what I would like to do. GPS based signal strength logging. Record both GPS data and RSSI information and plot coverage maps.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2017, 12:24 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.
Posts: 542
Default M5300 GPS Board & Info

Yes, there is an optional GPS board required, and it requires some Feature Encryption too.
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2017, 12:26 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia.
Posts: 542
Default GPS Receiver Field Upgrade Kit Manual

The manual is too large for RR to allow an upload (2 Meg file size).

If you need it, PM me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions