Lw long wave frequencies / information

Status
Not open for further replies.

kk4dnl

Feed Provider
I have recently purchased my first Short Wave receiver a Tecsun PL-380. This radio has the LW band but I can not seem to find anything to listen too. I do know that Air Navigational Beacons are on this band and I can faintly hear a local beacon here in Commerce GA 30530. But what else is their to listen too on this band? Any AM Voice, SSB, CW, RTTY?

I am a long time UHF, VHF, Air Band scanner listener. But I am new to the whole ShortWave/ Long Wave stuff so any info would be great.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Here in the US, there's not really that much use on LW for broadcasters. There are a few Euro and Asians, but it's never been used for that here. If you do hear a US broadcaster, it's likely to be a mixing product or image..

There are a couple of segments that are used by experimenters (160-190 khz, as I recall, and there's a recently opened range around 470 khz) and hams...the military goes lower still below 100 khz.

The Longwave Club of America is the place to be if you want to learn more about this spectrum. Here's the link...

Longwave Home Page

Mike

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
A lot of the aircraft beacons have shut down in the last few years. There are still a few, and they are fun to chase down. Print out a sheet showing the CW characters and start chasing the few that are left.

DGPS transmitters are out there in many parts of the country, but they aren't much fun unless you want to listen to a bunch of buzzing. New eLoran systems are coming, but in the UK, might be interesting to see if listeners in North America will be able to receive them. WWVB down at 60KHz is another one easy to hear, but it isn't like WWV.

k9rzz