RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > ICOM Land Mobile Radio

ICOM Land Mobile Radio Discussion forum for ICOM land mobile radio equipment such as the IC-F series radios. Please do not post amateur radio topics here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-13-2014, 7:28 AM
jmfirefighter's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Raymond, NH
Posts: 25
Default ICom IC-F70DS and MDC

Hello,

I have about 30 ICom IC-F70DS that are supposed to be MDC capable, however these ones are not......I've done some research on them and read that there may be a firmware update that fixes the issue. I've got a few calls out to ICom dealers, but no one seems interested in answering the questions I have.

So......

1.) These are running REV 2.1 firmware. MDC Options show in the software, but when trying to program it comes up with "unit not MDC capable". Hitting info button show the same thing. IS it a matter of a firmware upgrade (I've read we're up to 2.8 firmware on these?) to get the MDC functionality, or some other procedure to get it going?

2.) ICom was less than helpful with information on how to even get their firmware. I got a standard "updating firmware in the F70DS is extremely difficult" line from their sales department (I wanted to ask if they've ever flashed a Motorola with an iButton!!). Again, I have not heard back from the lone ICom LMR dealer in NH. I don't know if the firmware is something that ICom charges for or not, so I don't want to violate forum rules, but if anyone can help me out with getting a copy of the new firmware if it will fix this MDC issue, please let me know.

Mods, if this is out of line to request a firmware file, please let me know.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Josh

W1DPT Raymond, NH
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2014, 4:28 PM
stmills's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Twin Cites Area MN
Posts: 572
Default

I am in the same boat trying to get MDC working on IC-F80T. So far I have struck out getting any answers on firmware for these.
__________________
Steve Mills EMT-B
Twin Cities Incident Page-TCIP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-14-2014, 4:54 PM
jmfirefighter's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Raymond, NH
Posts: 25
Default

Yeah I'm striking out as well. Asked on a few different places and no one seems to have an answer.

I got in touch with ICom, they were no help and told me to call a dealer. Called two dealers, no replies back.

Leads me to belive ICOM and their dealer network don't do customer support very well. "Here's your radio, any problems or questions and you're SOL!"

At least with Motorola, you get good support from M and their dealers. Even Kenwood has good support.

ICOM is definitely on my "do not recommend" list. Good thing these aren't my radios, just trying to help out a local FD. You get what you pay for.......
__________________
Josh

W1DPT Raymond, NH
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:35 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 772
Default

These radios do have MDC build in. Are you sure that it is turned on?

Read the radio,save the file, then in the menue on the left, select MDC, click on system>general, what does it says?

If it says off then you are able to do any thing with MDC.

If you have problems, the build in help file is very good. Select an item, do a f-1 and the help file will come up.

I do these all the time and have no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2014, 2:24 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletech View Post
These radios do have MDC build in. Are you sure that it is turned on?

Read the radio,save the file, then in the menue on the left, select MDC, click on system>general, what does it says?

If it says off then you are able to do any thing with MDC.

If you have problems, the build in help file is very good. Select an item, do a f-1 and the help file will come up.

I do these all the time and have no problems.
The earlier models did not have MDC capabilities, as I believe that is what the OP probably has.
However with that being said, all they need is a simple firmware update.

I'm not sure what the problem is here with the dealers. They have access to any firmware you want, and is as easy as hooking the radio up and hitting "OK". Perhaps they don't like doing the upgrades in hopes to make a sale(s).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2014, 4:08 PM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,135
Default

jm firefighter drop me a PM with your email
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2014, 9:37 PM
jmfirefighter's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Raymond, NH
Posts: 25
Default

Yes, the info section says MDC not enabled......and I agree from my research a simple firmware update is what I need.

I'm just bothered by the Corporate and dealer support (or lack of, rather) that we're getting.

Iamhere300, PM sent.
__________________
Josh

W1DPT Raymond, NH
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:19 PM
iamhere300's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,135
Default

It might be mentioned, a dealer has helped a couple of people here with their firmware issues. Not their local dealer, but not all dealers are difficult to deal with.

And it did not cost them a dime.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions