is this a good forum to ask questions/learn?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pm91

Hi,
I'm new to ham. I plan to get my license and a hand-held transmitter. I don't think this will become a hobby, but my purpose is to be able to keep in touch with family, etc. in case of emergency, like Sandy, 9/11, etc.
I know I'll have to know enough pass the test and the rest of the family won't use unless it's an emergency and we won't really care if they are licensed or not if that happens.

Initially, all I'm looking for is a good place for equipment recommendations based on my needs and then whichever book I'll need to understand all of this (easy and simple - please) and pass the test.

There are a ton of sites that help with passing the test by learning the answers to the test questions which is great, but I need some sort of foundation first.

If someone could point me in the right direction or a top 10 ham forum to join that would be great!

Thanks,
Paul

GrumpyGuard

Hi,
I know I'll have to know enough pass the test and the rest of the family won't use unless it's an emergency and we won't really care if they are licensed or not if that happens.
You don't want unlicensed people using your amateur equipment even in an emergency unless you are the control operator. Allowing someone to use your equipment will bring the enforcement people knocking at your door. You could lose your license and be fined. But you will learn all about this as you study for your ticket.

Initially, all I'm looking for is a good place for equipment recommendations based on my needs and then whichever book I'll need to understand all of this (easy and simple - please) and pass the test.