RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Illinois Radio Discussion Forum

Illinois Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Illinois.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 7:43 PM

Question is this a good forum to ask questions/learn?

Hi,
I'm new to ham. I plan to get my license and a hand-held transmitter. I don't think this will become a hobby, but my purpose is to be able to keep in touch with family, etc. in case of emergency, like Sandy, 9/11, etc.
I know I'll have to know enough pass the test and the rest of the family won't use unless it's an emergency and we won't really care if they are licensed or not if that happens.

Initially, all I'm looking for is a good place for equipment recommendations based on my needs and then whichever book I'll need to understand all of this (easy and simple - please) and pass the test.

There are a ton of sites that help with passing the test by learning the answers to the test questions which is great, but I need some sort of foundation first.

If someone could point me in the right direction or a top 10 ham forum to join that would be great!

Thanks,
Paul
Sponsored links
Old 11-27-2012, 1:03 AM
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

You will have more success posting ham questions in one of the Amateur Radio Forums instead of the IL state forum.
Old 11-27-2012, 2:06 AM
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm91 View Post
Hi,
I know I'll have to know enough pass the test and the rest of the family won't use unless it's an emergency and we won't really care if they are licensed or not if that happens.