RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Indiana Radio Discussion Forum

Indiana Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Indiana.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2012, 2:06 AM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

Thanks for the info, guys. Keep us posted if anything needs to be changed in the DB
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2012, 5:59 PM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,678
Default New Albany P25 System

Packed up the laptop, PSR-500, and USB cable and drove over to New Albany this morning.

Main target was running PRO96COM on Lousville Metrosafe, but also ran it on New Albany.

Here's the screenshot, but monitored no traffic on the system.

BTW - the LTR system is still "chirping" away...
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2012, 8:31 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Floyd County, IN
Posts: 73
Default

I have not heard anything but testing on the new system and that was several months ago. New Albany Police and Floyd County Sheriff have switched to the State 800 system. Floyd County Fire departments are still on VHF except for New Chapel they are on 800. And New Albany Fire are still on 800.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2013, 4:56 PM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

Ran Unitrunker on this system today. It reports channel access as X2. I did not log any traffic, but it seems it's an X2 system.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines

Last edited by scannerfreak; 01-12-2013 at 5:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2013, 6:03 PM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,678
Default

as in TDMA-X2???
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2013, 7:40 PM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

Yep. We'll see what they actually use, but I am pretty sure it's going to be X2 going by what Uni is reportng. I'm in the New Albany area and am still getting NAFD on SAFE-T. No traffic yet on the P25 system.
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2013, 5:50 PM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,678
Default

Here's the Tower File from my PRO96COM run back in December... seems to confirm TDMA-X2 with the additional slot assignments...


FileVersion:7
-TowerInfo
#This section is here for information only. With the exception
#of the Call Sign(s), This data is not Read back into the program at all.
System ID : 45B
System Name : NEW ALBANY IN
WACN : BEE00
Tower Number (Decimal): 101
Tower Number (Hex) : T0101
Tower Description : (null)
Control Capabilities : Voice,Registration
Call Sign(s) :
Timestamp : Sat Dec 15 10:54:07 2012

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.00625,0.00625,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625,1
01,762.00625,0.00625,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625, 1
02,851.01250,0.01250,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250,2
03,762.00625,0.01250,30.00000,"Confirmed",0.01250, 2

-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-1397","c",859.73750,"00-1397",814.73750,0,0
"00-1437","a",859.98750,"00-1437",814.98750,0,0
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2013, 6:49 PM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

jbertrand, do you have a PSR-800? If not, this could explain why you haven't heard any traffic for awhile. Or it could also be they just aren't using it. I know there was heavy SAFE-T use by NAFD when I was there yesterday.
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines

Last edited by scannerfreak; 01-13-2013 at 6:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 1:56 AM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbertrand View Post
Floyd County Fire departments are still on VHF except for New Chapel they are on 800.
One more question for you. I saw Utica FD/EMS RID's calling on 22 FCFD DISP as New Chapel Fire/EMS. Does UFD/EMS run into New Chapel? I see they are fairly close together. It just through me for a loop. I suspect this is why they are the only current FD in Floyd County on 800, as they already had it in Utica, Clark County?

Thanks
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 6:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Floyd County, IN
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerfreak View Post
jbertrand, do you have a PSR-800? If not, this could explain why you haven't heard any traffic for awhile. Or it could also be they just aren't using it. I know there was heavy SAFE-T use by NAFD when I was there yesterday.

No, I have a Radio Shack Pro 106. As far as I can tell NAFD is still all SAFE-T, as far as responding and on scene, and still paging and dispatching on VHF. The last thing I remember hearing on the new system was what I believed to be a New Albany unit and a Jeffersonville Fire unit testing to see how far the system range would be. This was several months ago.
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 7:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Floyd County, IN
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerfreak View Post
One more question for you. I saw Utica FD/EMS RID's calling on 22 FCFD DISP as New Chapel Fire/EMS. Does UFD/EMS run into New Chapel? I see they are fairly close together. It just through me for a loop. I suspect this is why they are the only current FD in Floyd County on 800, as they already had it in Utica, Clark County?

Thanks
Utica and New Chapel work very closely together. From what I understand New Chapel EMS covers the New Chapel area and the Utica area. Since Clark County is all 800 New Chapel had to switch over. If is very common to hear New Chapel units on the wrong channel when they are running for one county and calling the other.
At the beginning of 2012 all Floyd County Fire departments were supposed to switch to 800, but after the March 2 tornadoes in the area and departments having trouble during search and rescue efforts the switch over never happened. A department member told me that when they were trying to communicate there were no open spots one the towers.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2013, 1:52 AM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

Makes sense. I think I heard Car 9 and a few squads. 54 and 58 maybe? I'd have to review to be sure. I logged a ton of affiliations to 22 FCFD DISP, but the only traffic I heard was New Chapel. Anyway thanks for the info
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2013, 2:02 PM
alwayslookin's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 118
Default

I have a question I am thinking of buying the Radio Shack Pro 106 this weekend I have not been in this hobby since last year. I live in Charlestown and was wondering with New Albany new stuff switched over will I be able to listen to them with the 106 or will I need to get the PSR 800 or what ever it is? I normally import all my stuff with the Win 500 web import to this site. Will I still be able to do that with the New Albany new system? Any help or info is much appreciated in advanced. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 7:37 PM
alwayslookin's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 118
Default

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 8:26 PM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,678
Default

From current indications, it looks like the system is X2-TDMA capable, but currently is using FDMA mode. Unless there is a complete change over to this, I suspect you'll be okay for right now using a PRO-106, but a PSR-800 would be your only compatible scanner at the present time if they go to using TDMA mode.

Everything else will work with the PRO-106 (Hoosier SAFE-T, Louisville Metrosafe)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 9:20 PM
alwayslookin's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 118
Default

OK thanks KD I appreciate that. I will continue with the 106 purchase as I looked up the PSR 800 and really didn't care for it to much as for just finding a zip code and not being able to do anything manually with out software. Never have owned a PSR 800 so don't know if it would be worth a try as I have owned several 106's and loved them. Thanks for the info again.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2013, 4:45 AM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,678
Default

Looks like they have requested some conventional 800Mhz frequencies also...

Indiana FCC License Info
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2013, 9:34 PM
alwayslookin's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 118
Default

OK great thanks a bunch KD.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2013, 10:04 PM
central190's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: AGAWAM MASSACHUSETTS
Posts: 161
Default

just to let you guys know tdma it's moto turbo it is not montiorable for any scanner at the moment only fdma is that's apco25
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2013, 10:42 PM
scannerfreak's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,565
Default

It is not TRBO, it's Motorola X2 TDMA, which can be received on a PSR-800.
__________________

Forum Rules and Guidelines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions