RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Industry Discussion

Industry Discussion General discussion forum for commercial and professional radio technologies. This includes manufacturers not listed below.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2013, 12:26 AM

Default Wide or Narrow band (eternal question)

Hi!

I've read a lot about Wide vs Narrow band. But I didn't really understood what is it...

I put my handheld to 162.55 (NOAA 7) and I get a louder sound on Narrow. On Wide it's quieter.

My understanding of it is that a frequency on 162.55 MHz on narrow band is +/-2.5 KHz (162.5525 MHz) and on wide it's +/- 5KHz (162.555 MHz).

If I take it from this perspective, we should always use Narrow band because it's more precise and we got more frequencies to use.

Now, I'm not a pro, so maybe someone will explain it properly and life will make sense again.
Sponsored links
Old 11-15-2013, 5:48 AM
Lead Wiki Manager
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Yes, using narrower bandwidth theoretically allows more users because the available spectrum is divided into narrower slices.

Many business and public safety users were assigned new narrow band frequencies when they updated their licenses, but many others simply kept their old frequencies while changing the emission designator to narrow band.

"The whole world's living in a digital dream. It's not really there, it's all on the screen." -- Joe Walsh WB6ACU
Old 11-15-2013, 6:47 AM

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9900; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.1.0.1047 Mobile Safari/534.11+)