KSICS comms on alternate control channels

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeuser

The Wretched
Would we ever hear KSICS comms on alternate control channels, while the primary is in use - of course.

Each county has about 5 & sometimes more freq's per county. I realize the KSICS primary control channels - control the network & the other freq's seem to carry the Tx's but I wasn't sure if the alternate control channels would do anything else like carry Tx's or just sit quietly & be ready to take control should the primary give out...

I noticed one frequency, that's neither a primary or a secondary, seems to always remain silent... Is it just a backup for system failure in Tx's or overflow safety?

I'm new to all this - bear with me.

KD4YGG

Database Admin
If the specific gets extremely busy, you will see those alternate CC's be used as voice channels.

I have observed this here in Indiana on Project Hoosier SAFE-T a few times (especially winter or severe weather). Not common, but it can happen.

kayn1n32008

ØÆSØ
Would we ever hear KSICS comms on alternate control channels, while the primary is in use - of course.

Each county has about 5 & sometimes more freq's per county. I realize the KSICS primary control channels - control the network & the other freq's seem to carry the Tx's but I wasn't sure if the alternate control channels would do anything else like carry Tx's or just sit quietly & be ready to take control should the primary give out...

I noticed one frequency, that's neither a primary or a secondary, seems to always remain silent... Is it just a backup for system failure in Tx's or overflow safety?

I'm new to all this - bear with me.