Need Help with Old Scanner

Status
Not open for further replies.

68rs327

I am new to scanners. I have an Old Realistic Pro 2020 Scanner that I have had for years that has been put away for years. My 13 yrs. old Son wanted a scanner so I dug it out of storage. My question is: I haven't used the scanner for years. It seems to work well but only picks up One police station about 30 miles away. Doesn't pick up any local Police, Fire, or EMS? I used this website and programmed in the frequencies for my local stations and still only picks up the one station? Are Frequencies now digital and this scanner is obsolete and wont work on updated frequencies and the only station I pick up still using older technology? If this scanner is now useless, what would a be a Cheap Decent Scanner to buy my young Son. I am New thank you for your help.

68rs327

I should had added, I live in Kentucky 42748 zip code. Closest town in Hodgenville, Ky.
Thanks,

thagewood

I think these are all the surrounding counties in your area? Do you have any of these freq programmed in your Pro 2020?
Larue County Kentucky Larue County, Kentucky (KY) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference Larue County, Kentucky, uses conventional analog police and fire radio communications systems.

Nelson County Kentucky Nelson County, Kentucky (KY) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference Nelson County, Kentucky, uses conventional analog police and fire radio communications systems.

Marion County Kentucky Marion County, Kentucky (KY) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference Marion County, Kentucky, uses conventional analog police and fire radio communications systems.
Hardin County Kentucky Hardin County, Kentucky (KY) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference Hardin County, Kentucky, uses conventional analog police and fire radio communications systems.