RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum


Kenwood & EF Johnson Forum - For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood or EF Johnson. For discussion of Kenwood Amateur Radio Equipment, please use the Amateur Radio Equipment forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2017, 7:46 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

RJ series connectors, I made a typo.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2017, 11:17 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, NY
Posts: 12
Default

I am talking about the Mic jack as that's where programming cable plugs in.. Pin 1, per the service
Manual, should have 12v on it to power the programming cable.. With out that voltage, the program
Cable doesn't work.. I've seen this before..

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2017, 11:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

I hooked everything up tonight and checked and the pin furthest to the right has 12V still getting connection error
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2017, 2:53 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

As I posted, the mic connector is a RJ 45, and Kenwood numbers the pins backwards from the RJ45 standards. The 12 volts is on pin 2 in the eight pin RJ45 connector.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2017, 2:58 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

This will give you an idea of the pin locations on the RJ45 plug. Power for the programming circuit is on pin 7.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2017, 4:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Thank you for posting those my KCH-4 control head has the RJ12 6 pin connector I checked and pin 6 has 12V at it, as the first diagram shows.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 1:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

So I looked at my kpg-46 cable that I ordered when I thought it was the cable I need, and it only has 3 wires going to the RJ45 connector it follows the wiring schematic posted except it does not have the wire going to pin 7 for the 12V, I am try to make a patch cable to go from the RJ45 plug to a RJ12 plug. Has anyone seen a cable like this how does the cable get itís power?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 1:22 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

I may just buy the pieces and make my own cable, I can’t quite read the part # for the voltage regulator is it njm78l05ua or njm79l05ua?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 1:55 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

Looks like a knock off programming cable. You did not say weather it was a Serial or USB programming cable. From your post it seems to be a Serial cable and that needs five volts for the RS232 to TTL converter. A USB cable usually uses the five volts from the computer to run the TTL logic going to the radio.
Seems the 78 or 79 series are five volt regulators similar to the one in the schematics I posted.

I have an older KWD 25 pin Serial program cable for the six pin radios and I added a lead from the input side of the voltage regulator thru a diode to a clip that I put on 12 volts.

Last edited by cmdrwill; 12-12-2017 at 2:07 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 2:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Ok I will try to see if I can pull my cable apart tonight and look at adding a power lead. Do you happen to have a drawing of how you added it?
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2017, 2:16 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

Look at the two schematics, 8 to 12 volts should go into the pin on the voltage regulator REG1 or REG coming from the RJ mic connector in the schematics, the three pin chip. And I will try to find a photo of one of the KWD cable circuit boards.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2017, 5:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Pardon the newb question but what is the purpose of the the capacitors on the input and output side of the voltage regulator?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2017, 12:49 AM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OFD-14-109 View Post
Pardon the newb question but what is the purpose of the the capacitors on the input and output side of the voltage regulator?
The capacitors keep the regulator from oscillating and filters out noise.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2017, 1:15 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Gotcha I have little experience building circuits but have gotten pretty good with repairing and altering circuit boards. I always like to learn why items are required not just that they are required so I thank you for being patient with me!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 1:08 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Ok so I made a patch cord to go from the RJ45 to RJ12 and tried to program the radio in a dos box inside win98se and I got the message stating mismatch model that I was expecting after installing the KCH5 upgrade I hit retry and the progress bar started moving then it said programming complete but there is nothing in the radio anyone ever seen this?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 2:23 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

Did you try to boot the computer DIRECTLY into DOS? Some programming software will NOT work in a "DOS box".
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 5:46 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

Yes I have when running it in dos I can’t get it to communicate at all. I am still waiting for the parts to arrive to build my own cable. I contacted the seller I bought my cable from that I posted a pic of earlier and was told that the cable gets its power for the rs232 to ttl chip from the dtr pin on the serial port. At this point I’m just going to wait till the parts arrive so I can make my own cable.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 8:28 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,672
Default

The RS232 chip may not be getting power. Did you check the regulator input and out put voltages?


" cable gets its power for the rs232 to ttl chip from the dtr pin on the serial port. " not the best way to get voltage to run the RS232 to TTL chip.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 8:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Otsego, MI USA
Posts: 35
Default

I tried checking the voltage on the chip but I can not find a voltage regulator on it, I’ve basically decided to give up on this cable I bought of eBay and build my own based off of the schematics you posted, I will report back after all my parts come in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions