RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Kenwood Forum

Kenwood Forum For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood. This is to include the TK(R) and NX(R) series radios and their associated accessories. This forum is not for the TM series; use Amateur Radio Equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 4:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 7
Default How do you reprogram Kenwood tk7160

I was given a kenwood tk7160 from a company i was working for over the winter. Im now back in Wyoming and would like to program in my EMS and fire channels because my old motorola is junk. I know you have to do it through a computer but what am i looking at cost wise etc?n And what is the program called i would have to buy? Is it cheaper to send it to someone since i only have the one radio to do? No clue how its done. And know of anyone in or near wyoming that can and will re program? Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 8:36 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Liberty, Ohio
Posts: 116
Default Kenwood tk7160 program

Wish you werre closer to Ohio, I'd do it for you.
You need a 75 dollar program and a cable that sells from 15 to 100 dollars depending where you get it.
Cheeper to have it done.

Rick W8PRR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 9:08 PM
b7spectra's Avatar
EMS Dispatcher
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cobb County, GA
Posts: 3,277
Default

Software is Windows based KPG-99DK and you will need the KPG-46 cable. You can get the cable for around $7.00 on eBay (check Kawa), the software is easily findable on the internet, or you can contact Kenwood for it.
__________________


/
\/\|k.e

EMS Dispatcher/EMD Certified
http://icanhasdriverslicense.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2011, 4:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 7
Default

Ok thanks for your help..used -out of the box but in new condition. still has plastic cover over screen how much are the 7160s going for you think? I have a second one I have no use for.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2011, 11:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 689
Default

Most likely around 250-300. PM me, we could use a few more 7160s.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2011, 7:49 PM
b7spectra's Avatar
EMS Dispatcher
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cobb County, GA
Posts: 3,277
Default

A couple listings on eBay has the software selling for $24.00 (including shipping). So, if you have a computer, you are looking at $24 for the sw and $7 for the cable - $31 and you can change your programming anytime you want.
__________________


/
\/\|k.e

EMS Dispatcher/EMD Certified
http://icanhasdriverslicense.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 2:40 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 6
Default

hi i have a tk7160 radio i want to progrm i have the software and programming cable just un sure how to program my local 2meter repeater so i can transmitt and rx as i am a lic operator want to use this radio as 2 meter rig thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 2:57 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA01
Posts: 2,826
Default

Specific questions?

There are so many options in these radios that you really need to decide what you want. Programming in the TX and RX frequencies and tones is pretty easy. Setting up the rest of it is dependent on your exact needs.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 3:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 6
Default program tk7160

all i want to do is program my radio so i can tx throught the local 2 meter repeater buts whats happening now is i put in the tx freg and rx freg it won,t let me tx throught the repeater but i can rx
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 3:42 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA01
Posts: 2,826
Default

What happens when you transmit? Does the radio transmit and not bring up the repeater, or is it physically not transmitting?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 3:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 6
Default th7160

what happens is is doesn,t bring up the repeater?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 4:02 PM
N7AS's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 59
Default

The repeater must have a PL tone for access. Find out if this is so by looking it up in a repeater directory. Then set the tone in the ENCode column in the Kenwood software.
__________________
Grant N7AS

Kenwood TK-3180-K4 - Wouxun KG-UV6X - TYT TH-UV3R
My Scanner Feed Page
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 4:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 6
Default programming tk7160

i know the freg for the repeater has a _ offset and uses the 600khz
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2014, 10:47 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 7
Default

There is a PL tone required to access the repeater receiver. Look in the repeater directory of see if there is a local Ham that you hear who might have this info. You have the RX & TX but need this PL tone frequency. You only need to put it in the encode and leave the decode blank.

You can use Callsign Database by QRZ.COM to look up some of the locals you hear and maybe get to know them.
Johnny
__________________
JStigler
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2014, 11:13 AM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA01
Posts: 2,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanner10 View Post
i know the freg for the repeater has a _ offset and uses the 600khz
The negative 600KHz offset is the difference between the frequency you receive on and the frequency you transmit on. 600KHz is pretty standard on 2 meter VHF.
So, lets say you "hear" the repeater on 145.450MHz. To transmit into the repeater, you'd set your transmit frequency to 144.850MHz.
145.450MHz - 600KHz (0.6MHz) = 144.850MHz.
Some segments of the 2 meter band use a positive offset, + 600KHz, or the RX frequency + .600.

Don't confuse the 600kHz offset with the PL tone. The PL tone is a sub audible tone that is used to trigger the repeater. The repeater listens for this tone on the receiver, and only keys the transmitter if it hears that specific tone. This helps reduce interference from triggering the transmitter on the repeater.

PL (Motorola for "Private Line") is simply a CTCSS tone, or Continuous Tone Coded Squelch System. Kenwood uses the "QT" term, which stands for Quite Tone. They are all the same thing, generally, just different terminology. They are "sub audible" because they are (mostly) below the range of human hearing, so usually you won't hear them if you listen on a scanner. The repeater can "hear" these tones and will use them to trigger the transmitter.

While there are some amateur repeaters that still use carrier squelch, it is pretty rare. Most of the repeaters you will run in to will require a CTCSS tone to work. There is also a digital version, which uses a sub audible digital signal to do the same thing. These are called "DCS", digital coded squelch, DQT, Digital Quiet Tone, or DPL, Digital Private Line. They are usually expressed as a 3 digit number.

For what you are doing it sounds like, as others have said, that you need to set the correct tone on the transmit side. Without the correct tone set, you will not be able to bring up the repeater.

On the Kenwood software, you need to program your receive and transmit frequency. Then, click on the box for ENC QT/DQT. This is the "encode" tone setting. Encode just means it's putting it on the transmit side. When you click on that box, it'll give you a drop down menu where you can select the correct tone the repeater uses.

Do -NOT- set the DEC QT/DQT box. This is the "decode" tone setting, and if set incorrectly will prevent your radio for receiving.

So, what you need to do is either give us more information about the specific repeater so we can help you look it up and find the correct tone, or search for it yourself.

The tone itself will be listed in Hz, or Hertz, and will be somewhere between 67Hz and 254.1Hz.

Good luck!

Last edited by mmckenna; 02-07-2014 at 11:48 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions