RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Kenwood Forum

Kenwood Forum For discussion of land mobile radio products manufactured by Kenwood. This is to include the TK(R) and NX(R) series radios and their associated accessories. This forum is not for the TM series; use Amateur Radio Equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2012, 1:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Morehead, Kentucky
Posts: 39
Default Scanning audio gaps...

When I'm scanning on my NX-300, 320, or 800(H) if I'm not on my priority channel, when it's listening to a channel there are gaps in the audio, or breaks. On my TK-3312, it doesn't do that.

Why does my $260 radio scan perfectly, and my other radios that are above $500 each won't?



Thanks,

Alex
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2012, 4:11 PM
cwb212001's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 33
Default

The break in audio is set by the priority lookback time in the scan section of the programming. This is the radio breaking away from the channel it has stopped on during scan to check the priority channel. Kenwood default appears to be every 0.50 seconds to lookback... my opinion too fast. I like 1.1 seconds, but is a preference. It's a balance between how annoying it is vs. how important is it to catch traffic on your priority, especially if someone calling you only takes 1 second of tx time. If you don't like it, remove or have removed the priority channel in your scan settings, or increase the lookback time setting. In some radios there are ways to decrease the amount of time it spends looking at the priority channel but you're talking a few milliseconds difference at best. As far as your $260 radio, if it does have priority scan as a feature, my bet is it's not turned on. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 39
Default

Every kenwood I have seen can do the lookback time. I usually set it to .9 sec.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 3:50 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Gorham, ME
Posts: 2
Default TK-780 Priority scanning

As a follow up to the audio gaps is there a way to disable the "priority" function using the front panel and not the software?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 4:11 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 25
Default

Unfortunately, the scan type (pri or non pri) is something that can only be changed in the software.
__________________
HT-1250, PR-400, MCS-2000, CM-300, CDM-1550,1250, TK 7180, TK 2312, Minitor V, BCT-15X BCD-996XT
FF-II, EMT-B. Radio Nerd. Feed Provider.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions