RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Maine Radio Discussion Forum


Maine Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Maine.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:01 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

im not even hearing the control channels so im thinking its probably not as powerful as say Auburn/Lewiston or NH SP
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScanMaine View Post
im not even hearing the control channels so im thinking its probably not as powerful as say Auburn/Lewiston or NH SP


You also have to keep in mind that it's 800mhz which doesn't the range that vhf does so comparing it to the twin cites or NH isn't fair.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:04 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

True but the CMP system is well rigged and receives super well
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default Portland p25

True. I do know part of the upgrade was adding new towers but I dont know if that's happened yet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:08 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
True. I do know part of the upgrade was adding new towers but I dont know if that's happened yet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
very nice
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 2:11 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

I'm in Lewiston now and I don't hear any CC channels or nothing.
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 2:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

That doesn't surprise me much. The motorola system anyway drops off quickly after 25-30 miles outside of portland. I dont know if the p25 system will have more range or not


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 2:16 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

Should have no problems hearing it in L/A. Analog why's as far as p25 thats what I'm reporting

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 2:28 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
That doesn't surprise me much. The motorola system anyway drops off quickly after 25-30 miles outside of portland. I dont know if the p25 system will have more range or not.
That sounds about right. I am in Poland and can pick up Portland dispatch on the mobile as I head out my door. I can pick up portables around the Gray/Cumberland line.

The P25 system MSComm uses has towers all around, as does CMP. The 30 mile circumference area is about right on those as well.

If they have a tower somewhere in North Deering, I have a shot of getting it at the house on the base. I am right on the 30 mile doorstep.
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 8:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default Portland p25

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1IWN View Post
That sounds about right. I am in Poland and can pick up Portland dispatch on the mobile as I head out my door. I can pick up portables around the Gray/Cumberland line.



The P25 system MSComm uses has towers all around, as does CMP. The 30 mile circumference area is about right on those as well.



If they have a tower somewhere in North Deering, I have a shot of getting it at the house on the base. I am right on the 30 mile doorstep.


If you look at the gps info for mscommnet on RR the have the range set to 25 mi but that's very conservative for vhf. I pick up towers up to 50 mi with a bcd436hp and 40 inch telescopic antenna. 800 mhz just doesn't have the range of vhf. If it's any consolation the vhf simulcast of Portland prime and south Portland prime isn't going anywhere so you'll certainly be able to listen to that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2017, 12:02 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
If you look at the gps info for mscommnet on RR the have the range set to 25 mi but that's very conservative for vhf. I pick up towers up to 50 mi with a bcd436hp and 40 inch telescopic antenna. 800 mhz just doesn't have the range of vhf. If it's any consolation the vhf simulcast of Portland prime and south Portland prime isn't going anywhere so you'll certainly be able to listen to that.
Right on!

I know I can pick up Portland on VHF on the 436 in my car in my driveway. I have not added the system on the 536 as of yet since I upgraded my base antenna. I will do that and see what I can pick up.

I am thinking it will be a remote chance of picking up the Portland 800 mHz transmissions where I am. If I was on top of a hill I'd have a better shot, but I am not (halfway up with some obstruction to the S/SE. I'll play around and see what I can get. I am not ruling out running an outdoor wire, but I am skeptical of too much of a financial investment chasing a pipe dream.

I get my Portland fix for action since I work there, so I am by no means shut out. It would be nice to get it at home, but the 536 is pretty busy with all that I monitor there. It would simply be the cherry on the sundae.
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2017, 12:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1IWN View Post
Right on!



I know I can pick up Portland on VHF on the 436 in my car in my driveway. I have not added the system on the 536 as of yet since I upgraded my base antenna. I will do that and see what I can pick up.



I am thinking it will be a remote chance of picking up the Portland 800 mHz transmissions where I am. If I was on top of a hill I'd have a better shot, but I am not (halfway up with some obstruction to the S/SE. I'll play around and see what I can get. I am not ruling out running an outdoor wire, but I am skeptical of too much of a financial investment chasing a pipe dream.



I get my Portland fix for action since I work there, so I am by no means shut out. It would be nice to get it at home, but the 536 is pretty busy with all that I monitor there. It would simply be the cherry on the sundae.


I run a 536 in the car but in order not to miss too much I run a 436 and 396 in tandem when I'm home. Most of the time you wouldn't miss much not hearing the 800mhz side anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2017, 4:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

A long range Yagi should help if you can git it up some. When I was in Lyman a few years ago I could just hear the control channel on a rubber antenna in the 2nd floor. Anything is possible.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2017, 4:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillW1 View Post
A long range Yagi should help if you can git it up some. When I was in Lyman a few years ago I could just hear the control channel on a rubber antenna in the 2nd floor. Anything is possible.


Scanning is a weird and ever surprising hobby!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2017, 4:59 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

I might be relocating closer to Portland area or Scarborough so then I won't have any issues

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2017, 2:33 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillW1 View Post
A long range Yagi should help if you can git it up some. When I was in Lyman a few years ago I could just hear the control channel on a rubber antenna in the 2nd floor. Anything is possible.
Which one would you recommend, Bill?
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2017, 5:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

Looks like Portland has postpone the changeover until July .
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2017, 7:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

I just set my 436 on portland metro p25 for an hour or so without a peep. It locks on a CC but that's it. I'll check periodically over the next 2 weeks while I'm home for spring break but I wouldn't say there will be much to hear for a little while.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2017, 7:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillW1 View Post
Looks like Portland has postpone the changeover until July .


Just out of curiosity where did you see this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2017, 8:00 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

I use to dispatch and I have a friend who still works for an agency who is involved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions