RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Maine Radio Discussion Forum


Maine Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Maine.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2017, 10:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Angry Portland p25

Portland been testing p25 but not without issues. Control channel up and running.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2017, 12:23 AM
toastycookies's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: the far east
Posts: 723
Default

Have you actually heard it?

Which frequencies and talkgroups?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2017, 8:27 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 118
Default

They are using the same set of frequencies from the old sysyem for the p25 system so that doesn't surprise me. I tried the same thing awhile ago. You haven't heard any actual traffic right?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2017, 9:27 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rollinsford, NH
Posts: 223
Default

What frequency is the CC on?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 8:59 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Merrimack Valley
Posts: 33
Default

During a fire in Portland the other day the entire system failed I am told. If anyone has additional info could you pass along
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 10:14 AM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

They are working on it this morning (2/27/17)... TGID 3248
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 4:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

Yes. They are using the same frequencies that they have and will be adding many more talk groups. I think 140 total.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 4:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

853.5375 as of right now.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:01 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

Yeah the system went belly up a few days ago. The digital system is getting interference from something and have been trying to track it down. The only traffic that was heard so far was tones. And there will be some encryption at some point.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2017, 5:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 35
Default

853.8375 as of right now
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 11:23 AM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

Is this system gonna have all the same freqs and stuff so all you have to do is program it in to the scanner now or does it all change???
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:08 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

also does anyone have any info on how much power the system is? I should be able to hear it where im at. Im monitoring the system and logging as we speak but no traffic of talk groups yet!
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:24 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 118
Default Portland p25

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScanMaine View Post
Is this system gonna have all the same freqs and stuff so all you have to do is program it in to the scanner now or does it all change???


The p25 system uses the same set of frequencies as the Motorola system but the TG's will different. They are also adding a lot of TG's including encrypted ones.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:26 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
The p25 system uses the same set of frequencies as the Motorola system but the TG's will different. They are also adding a lot of TG's including encrypted ones.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
10-4
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:48 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
The p25 system uses the same set of frequencies as the Motorola system but the TG's will different. They are also adding a lot of TG's including encrypted ones.
Do you know if this will cover all the city agencies and if South Portland is in on this as well?
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1IWN View Post
Do you know if this will cover all the city agencies and if South Portland is in on this as well?


Yes, the entire Motorola Portland metro system and all of it's users will eventually move to the p25 system. The Motorola system will remain up for some time after the initial transition and will be patched with the p25 system until everyone transitions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:50 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScanMaine View Post
also does anyone have any info on how much power the system is? I should be able to hear it where im at. Im monitoring the system and logging as we speak but no traffic of talk groups yet!
Can you get Portland on your antenna there now?
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:54 PM
K1IWN's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland Spring, ME
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackSheepDue View Post
Yes, the entire Motorola Portland metro system and all of it's users will eventually move to the p25 system. The Motorola system will remain up for some time after the initial transition and will be patched with the p25 system until everyone transitions.
Excellent. Thanks!

I'm intown during the week for work and will keep my ears open. My search time is limited, but I will poke around when I can.
__________________
- Mike

SKYWARN CCRadio-SW BCD436HP ProVoice + DMR GPS BCD536HP ProVoice + DMR ARC536 HomePatrol2 Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:55 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1IWN View Post
Excellent. Thanks!



I'm intown during the week for work and will keep my ears open. My search time is limited, but I will poke around when I can.


I will be home(cape elizabeth) at the end of this week for 2 weeks(spring break) and will have plenty of time to see what I can hear.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2017, 12:59 PM
Was MaineRadioMan
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Paris Maine
Posts: 1,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K1IWN View Post
Can you get Portland on your antenna there now?

NO, weird huh, i cant get Augusta very well either, them are my only flaws!
__________________
Up on a huge hill with a tower 100ft in the air!

2- BCD996P2
2- BCT15XT
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions