Is 10 meters usable

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blindguy

Hi all, I am studying to upgrade to a general licenase. I was wondering if there is any activity on that slim range of requencies that phone is allowed on10m for technician class operators? If so what are the best times/days and best freqs to make a QSO? Is there any activity there or do I need until I get my general ticket and move to other bands like 20 or 80 meters?
thanks
Frank

KC4RAF

Davenport,Fl.- home to me and the gators and the s
You have a small frequency range

in the 10 meter band for phone:
28.300-28.500 MHz: CW, Phone--Maximum power 200 watts PEP
Working the 10 meters depends largely on the propagation at the time. Similar to the CB (11 meters) band.
On the 80 meters you have:
3.525-3.600 MHz: CW Only, NO phone.
And no privileges on 20.

Last edited:

Blindguy

Thanks, is the 28.300 to 28.500 phone upper or lower side band?
thanks
Frank

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber
Upper sideband. The frequency range may seem small, but that's where most of the activity is. Check out this url: QSO/SWL real time maps - NA - 28

This shows real time propagation for all bands. When 10 meters is open, you can work the world. When its not, its not.

jhooten

10 meters is magic and unpredictable. It is open a lot of times when every indicator of propagation says it can't be. Since the predictions say it isn't open few operators bother to check it. I keep the repeater outputs and the simplex FM in a scanner running when I'm in the radio room. I also have a Radio Shack HTX-10 parked on 28.400 usb and occasionally make a call just to see. I have made some unexpected contacts to amazing places by doing this.

First contact on 10 was Brazil on a converted CB that showed 3 watts output. It is still my favorite band.

PrimeNumber