Interference on I-TAC 3 in Eastern AACo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lebrunmn

Retired... Get off my lawn!
Premium Subscriber
Has anyone else been getting steady interference on I-TAC 3, 867.51250, in the Eastern AACo area? I'm in the Orchard/Stoney Beach area, and get nothing but static on that particular freq. I've turned on the attenuator for that freq, and that has resolved the problem, but I'm just wondering if someone might know what's up? I've searched the forums--without success--to see if someone else is having this problem. (Of course, I'm still an FNG, so I'm not too good with the whole forum thing.) I've also driven all around Eastern AACo with my handheld, and I still get steady static on that freq. I just had to ask.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer.

Regards,

-Mark

Llwellyn

I'm not sure about ITAC-3, but for sure RINS-3 and RINS-4 you will get interference on if you don't PL it. RINS-3 and RINS-4 are control channel frequencies for the Delaware State TRS for New Castle County. RINS-3 is also used on every NJ State TRS site.

It's starting to get into the season again where picking up stuff from the Eastern shore and anything up to the Northeast is gonna be easy and in some cases unavoidable.

Best bet would be to use the PL tones. Anyone authorized to use these frequencies is going to have the correct PL tone.

EDIT: 867.5125 is in use in the Manassas, VA TRS.

lebrunmn

Premium Subscriber
Thanks, Llwellyn--your suggestion to set the CTCSS code did the trick.

For some reason I was using PL tones for RINS freqs but my ITAC freqs were all set to carrier squelch.

Thanks for taking the time to help a newbie.

-Mark

lebrunmn

Premium Subscriber
EDIT: I inadvertantly turned on the attenuator back on when I loaded the PL tones--looks like I'm still getting that interference on 867.5125.

Oh, well...

-Mark

Llwellyn