Harford County 800mhz programming help

Status
Not open for further replies.

abkinsey

I am new to the TrunkTracking scanners. I have a new Uniden bc796d.

I have tried to program in the 800Mhx frequencies for Harford County. I doesn't seem to pick much up.

My questions are as follows:

1. Can you program just Fire/EMS without the Police?

2. Do I need to enter all Frequencies or just the control Channels?

3. If I have to program in just the control channels, do I program them as truncked?

So far I have programmed in the following:

868.8125 Primary
0868.7750 Secondary
0868.7750 Secondary
0868.3750 Secondary
0868.7875 Secondary

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You

Andrew

doctordave

Andrew,

You could save yourself a lot of headaches by using the software provided and just programming via PC. Total piece of cake. Doing it by hand w/ just the radio is a hassle. Do you have access to a PC? You'll need a cheap cable (about $10 at Radio Shack). Either way (PC or not), we'll help you through it. Yes, you can choose which talkgroups you want.....so you choose which particular PD/FD/EMS/etc comms you monitor. I always dump all of the freqs in, so I honestly don't know about control channel only programming w/ the 796.

The 796 is a great radio. I have several and love them.

In fact, if you get the cable and use the software, I can e-mail you my Harford Co 796 file.

abkinsey

Software and Cable

Ok, I do have the Butel Software and Cable. Still a little unsure of what to put into the software.

Andrew

TinEar

Andrew, enter all the freqs for the Harford County trunked system. Then enter the talkgroups for the fire department if that's all you want. All of them are listed in the database at this site.

alan

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus