Recommendations for newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

twocats

Hi all, I'm very new to scanning, and have a few quick questions. I live in Montgomery County (for the next few months, at least, then Indiana) and I have to forgo the digital scanners for now.
What are some simple scanners available that would allow me to listen to other Mont. Co. or DC frequencies? Also, are all Mont. Co. operations digital, or just police? I'd like a handheld, and my price range is limited for now to about 200 max. I would really appreciate any advice you can give me. I've looked at the BC92XLT, some Unidens and the RS Pros. Honestly, I don't know what would be best for me. Thanks!

troymail

Silent Key
Your not going to hear much of Montgomery County at $200... you need digital and you're looking at about $500+

You may be able to hear fire dispatches on the pager frequency (154.16?) but that's probably it.

It's a tough decision if you are leaving the area --- is the area you are going to using digital? If not, that' makes it even harder.....

senduhelp

I know that Montgomery County's fire/rescue dispatch is simulcast on 154.16 and their channel 7B is also simulcast on 153.95. Many of their responses are on channel 7B unless it is a major fire incident and it goes to another channel that you can only monitor with the more expensive type of scanner. I have always enjoyed just listening to these two channels.

twocats

Thanks for the quick responses. I'll be moving to Evansville, Indiana, sometime this spring, which I'm pretty sure is not digital. Although at some point they will be, I suppose.
From Chevy Chase/Bethesda, would I be able to pick up some DC feeds, or maybe Park Police, MSP, etc.? Argh, this is a tough decision. If I do save up for a digital, is it fairly easy for a newbie to learn?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus