Looking for a Motorola Motrac trunk unit

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISP543

Preferably in the Michigan area. For my 1975 Michigan State police car restoration. I just need the trunking unit part. It doesn't even have to work. I have PLENTY of control heads...no trunking unit

Feel free to drop me an email at Preston@fotki.com
Check out the car at : http://public.fotki.com/Preston/my_new_project/

I know this is "old school" stuff for you guys, but I am hoping that one of you may have one of these collecting dust someplace that you are willing to part with cheap.

Here is an early pic of my set up
PICT0147.jpg

they look like this
eb9f_1_sbl.jpg

eddd_1_sbl.jpg

Last edited:

ncarpenter

Premium Subscriber
I might be able to find something in our assortment of really old lowband stuff at my FD...I'll let you know. When you say "trunking", are you referring to some type of signal trunking, or just the unit the mounts in the "trunk"? I'm not an expert of old radio technology, but I didn't realize there was radio trunking in the 70's in Michigan...Please let us know!

KB8UYC

Premium Subscriber
ISP,

Its GREAT to see your interest in that car...I took the time to look at your website, and I am sure that the Troopers will be excited to see that car back and shining brighter than ever! Thanks for taking the time to do something like this!

I wish you all the luck....

mkoronka

What a great job you have done on that car. Looking at your pictures sure brought back alot of memories from that overhead flasher to hearing the howl of that 4 bbl carb when they got on it. With todays 800 Mhz antenna's (short) I forgot how they used to hook the tip of that whip antenna to the roof of the car. I would like to see that in person some day.

EC-7

I just threw out about 4 or 5 of those last year. Im a pack-rat who keeps tons of radios for "future" projects, and I figured those were just junk anymore and not worth the time.
I think mine might of actualy come from MSP too.