RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Topic Specific Forums > Military Monitoring Forum

Military Monitoring Forum Discussions regarding monitoring military communications on the ground, in air and at sea. Please keep USCG discussion to this forum also.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2013, 5:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 131
Default

I have been monitoring the site at Luke AFB for over a month ago. I am trying to figure out some of the TG users. I have positively ID'd about 6 so far but there are about 100 or so.

There is no neighbor sites or Adjacent Sites listed. I have provided the DB Admin with all the frequencies they are using. I have several hundred radio ID's but I kinda gave up on them for a while.

If anything changes, I will report it.

Alan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2013, 10:14 PM
Phoenix805's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NW Phoenix
Posts: 210
Talking

OK, time to show off my ignorance again. I had Luke programmed in until this recent upgrade, now I can't get them. I have the control freqs and tried them as MOT VHF/UHF (that's what I had before) and P25 AUTO (what I thought they are now) but I'm not getting anything. I'm sure I'm missing something simple, any suggestions? Thanks
__________________
Retired after 30+ years with the City of Phoenix
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 8:49 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 131
Default

Make sure you have all four control frequencies loaded. On Thursday they switched to one of the Alternates. you need to have it on P25 Auto. I used Win500 and I did load the tables I had for the old system but after it rand for a while it added a bunch of other things. Their is not much going on this weekend, mostly secuity and fire stuff.

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 12:45 PM
Phoenix805's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NW Phoenix
Posts: 210
Default

Thanks Alan,
there was little weekend traffic in the past, and I imagine even less with a 4 day holiday weekend. I'll keep listening and see if I can catch anything, but I'll probably have a better chance next weekend.

um, another dumb question.... it looks like they're using the same control freqs for both the old system and the upgrade. Does that sound right, or did I get them crossed somewhere?
Thanks,
Bob
__________________
Retired after 30+ years with the City of Phoenix
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 1:42 PM
bravo14's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lower part of the NW FL area
Posts: 1,953
Default

It looks like they are using the same freq's as the old system. I don't hear civilian workers on the system yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix805 View Post
Thanks Alan,
there was little weekend traffic in the past, and I imagine even less with a 4 day holiday weekend. I'll keep listening and see if I can catch anything, but I'll probably have a better chance next weekend.

um, another dumb question.... it looks like they're using the same control freqs for both the old system and the upgrade. Does that sound right, or did I get them crossed somewhere?
Thanks,
Bob
__________________
Dell computers SUCK! Dude you got jail you can't get a dell
Radios Alinco DJ-X10T IC-F43GT BCD396XT PSR-800 BCD536HP BCD436HP
Youtube http://www.youtube.com/user/staugfl1991
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2013, 10:27 PM
kd7kdc's Avatar
Database Administrator
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deer Park, Washington
Posts: 297
Default USAF System 3D6

Dose anyone see connected neighbors sites for any of the Air Force networks?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
The people of this state do not yield their sovereignty to the agencies which serve them. RCW 42.30.010
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 8:23 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravo14 View Post
It looks like they are using the same freq's as the old system. I don't hear civilian workers on the system yet.
When they first started this, they were using a different Control Channel, and just a couple of the voice channels then last week when they went into full operation they moved all of them over to the new system

Alan
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2013, 9:18 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 131
Default Luke System

I think the system was down for some reason from 22:07 last night until 07:47 this morning [12/1/2013]. When I got up this morning there was no control channel and nothing had been logged for 8 hours. All of a sudden there were a lot of radio checks from Security and the Fire Department. I heard them thank a radio tech for coming in.. I guess this is suppose to be a nice new system....
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 12-02-2013, 10:27 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 156
Default

The LUKE AFB system has been very active the past 24 hours. In addition to those already listed, I observed traffic on the following TG's. Also noted that TG 5030 identified as 'Top hat.'


5023
5024
5026
5030 - 'Top Hat'
5035
5044
5073
5074
5087
5089
5094
5096
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:40 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 131
Default

Some of the Talk Groups that I think I have more or less identified

5030 - Maintenance Groups
5032 - Fire 1 Dispatch
5033 - Fire 2 Crash Tactical
5034 - Fire 3 Structure Tactical & Fire Alarm Maintenance
5035 - Fire 4 Other Tactical Used on Off Base Respons
5036 - Fire 5 Unknown
5050 - POL Petroleum - Oil - Lub
5058 - Security
5059 - Security
5063 - Ground Control - Runway Movement
5069 - Base Taxi
5087 - Range Management Office
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:00 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In the Winnie
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aensr View Post
Those frequencies are used by Phoenix on their Simo B System and would not be on a Federal Govt system. I have not seen them on my PRO96 monitor and I have been monitoring for well over a month now. You may have got them if you let your receiver scan some way.

Alan
I concur, I've had my Pro96 running since we rolled into town and no 800mhz frequencies on this network it's Federal uhf all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:29 PM
mdevans's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 11
Default Luke's new setup

I was able to get my pro 167 up and running with the apco 25 setup but have been unable to get my home Patrol or Pro 18 working with it. I was able to get the Radio shack radio working by simply changing it to P25 and adding some new talkgroups but its not working like that with the other radios. I tried using the RR setup from the DB but that didn't work either. Anyone have an idea what the problem might be?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 12-03-2013, 11:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In the Winnie
Posts: 25
Default

1st make sure you have all 4 control channels populated, tonight for instance they are using 409.3625 however they are usually on 410.1625. I use a PSR500 so I'm not sure about your units but make sure you have the right control channels, make sure you're setup for P25 and you might want to try the WILDCARD or ALL talkgroup if your scanner has one and just monitor all traffic to make sure you're up and running correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2013, 10:06 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 156
Default

Just double checked. I am in analyze mode on the new LUKE system and running PRO96.com on my PSR600. System I.D. 3D6, Tower I.D. 114, WACN BEE00. And the two new voice channels are still there this morning. They were not there when I first began monitoring and I'm still receiving there current crop of talk groups just fine. I always use their control channel, that is the only way PRO96com will work. Today the control channel is 409.36250 at 0906 hrs.

868.21250
868.26250
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2013, 7:01 PM
WayneH's Avatar
Moderator
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sitting in an airport somewhere
Posts: 8,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 918Dave View Post
And the two new voice channels are still there this morning.
They'll stay there until you remove them. All it takes is for Pro96Com to get bad data one time with bad freq references and you get results like you saw. I would suggest removing them since they don't belong to the system.
__________________
-Wayne
PM's are permitted by contact list only. Please use direct email: wayne_h at radioreference dot com
Got an admin question? -> Forum Rules & Guidelines
Please follow the forum rules and contact a moderator directly, not via a thread.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2013, 9:13 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 156
Default

They aren't actually programmed into either of my radios, . . . just showing up on the received data while using Pro96.com.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2013, 7:27 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ.
Posts: 1,936
Default

Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (BREW; Opera Mini/6.0.3/27.2338; U; en) Presto/2.8.119 320X240 LG VN530)

5035 Fire 4 is EMS, and 5036 Fire 5 should be Training if they kept the same setup as they had before.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2013, 11:41 PM
radioprescott's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North Central Arizona
Posts: 338
Default

I made a trip up from Nogales, and found a couple of AZ related sites:

Site 3D6-0115
cc 409.16250
Gila AFB Aux Field

Site 3D6-0116
cc 410.36250
Child's Mtn near Ajo

Didn't have Unitrunker available, so no neighbor data. The info is from my 396.

Heard what sounded like ground troops training on TG 5039. Users were calling 'Snake Eye' in heavily accented English for clearances while traversing the range, and in comms with each other in a language other than English. Call signs heard sounded like 'JoJo Bravo' and Jojo Alpha' .

'Snake Eye' is the call sign for Barry Goldwater Range Control, managed by LAFB. [LAFB manages the eastern portion; the western pottion is managed by MCAS Yuma as the Yuma Traing Range Complex on the DOD 14C system]



Submitted and already updated in the DB
__________________
John
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.

Last edited by radioprescott; 12-10-2013 at 12:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2013, 7:51 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In the Winnie
Posts: 25
Default

That activity is likely due to Operation Forging Sabre (no inside info just took it from their website).

Incidentally the CH-47 Flew over me at 4pm yesterday (9-Dec) and the F-35 is set to be there this morning and I'll be scouting for a place to watch her come in, don't want to miss that one!

F-35B AIRCRAFT EXPECTED TO VISIT LUKE AFB DEC. 10 - INCREASED AIR ACTIVITY DEC 3-15
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2013, 9:13 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: In the Winnie
Posts: 25
Default

0813-10Dec13-Radio Tech on site at Luke on FD 2 (5033) talking about system issues and a lag between here and Texas, FD having issue with the way the system is working, tech has no real answer or solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions