311.000 & 323.800 simulcasting-quick question

Status
Not open for further replies.

spacellamaman

So i imagine everyone reading this has heard HUNTRESS et al on 364.200, amongst others, doing broadcasts with co-ordinates and other such things on a regular basis. It's neat as a first time Mil-Air listener to hear it, my "first" UHF with my BC125 was HUNTRESS on 364.200, but it didn't take long for me to tire of it. I keep 364.2, 311.0, 323.8 etc running cause if your only interest is Mil-Air, things can be kinda slow.

Yesterday, similar type broadcast on 323.8 popped up when i was trying to track something else, locked it out and the broadcast, same voice same sentence, seamlessly transitioned to 311.000. I put Pro668 on 323.8 and got to listen in stereo.

Out of curiosity is this fairly common? I can't say for certain if i have had that happen before, and I have been listening for close to 2 years, intensively. Also, I am assuming this is originating from the same source, a Doomsday plane somewhere, but then again I don't know a whole lot about these messages. Anyone aware of other common multi-cast frequency pairs/sets?

That's all, thanks. :)

autovon

Ø
Likely from a Navy E-6B. Yes, pretty common in some locations. These messages are also sometimes simulcast on HF (HFGCS).

popnokick

Premium Subscriber
How do you ensure all deployed assets receive a broadcast message? By having them monitor a single freq? Not hardly... better to simulcast on as many freqs as possible. Read the accounts of what was heard on HFGCS when the "go" order was given for the first Iraq invasion (which I think are here on RR as well as other places).

spacellamaman

Likely from a Navy E-6B. Yes, pretty common in some locations. These messages are also sometimes simulcast on HF (HFGCS).