RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Missouri Radio Discussion Forum

Missouri Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Missouri.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2012, 11:25 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by semo View Post
I am picking up site 3201 on 858.4625. Unknown location.
Look at site number 963 in the Ameren P25 database. AmerenMissouri (P25) Trunking System, St Louis Metro Area/E MO, Multi-State - Scanner Frequencies
It shows that frequency and is in Marston in New Madrid County.

I bet that is the site you are getting.

They are still using the Edacs sites here but the P25 activity seems to be picking up the greater of the talk now.

If you have two radios, you can listen to the edacs sites in your area and see if they are simulcasting the chatter from the P25 site you found back on one or more of the edacs sites.
That's a good way of determining the talkgroup as they are not very well documented on the P25 sites yet. Especially away from the St. Louis area.

Of course if the talkgroups are not listed in the Edacs database, that will not help you much.
Many of the P25 talkgroups that have been found are just using a generic description.
It is a hard system to figure out what a talkgroup is called going on what you hear alone.
When there are outages in my area at the substation I can see out my window, they can show up on many different TG's. I've always felt they may assign TG's to a "crew" working the area.

So when there is an outage here, I can't just monitor say North County as they may not use that TG that time. It seems very random around here.

Some TG's are commonly used like when a crew calls in that they are complete and ready to close a switch or something or calling dispatch so they can bring a line hot remotely.
Or crews working meter inspections in the city, they seem to always be on the same TG.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2012, 7:45 AM
wb0wao's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO
Posts: 218
Default

The Cape Girardeau site has switched over to P25 - I don't have a digital scanner to confirm this, but there is nothing on the old EDACS system, and the control channel has a much different sound to it now.
__________________
PRO-107/PRO-528/PRO-137/PSR-410
VX-150/Wouxun KG-UV2D/Moto GM350/Moto Saber I, Ie, II/Moto HT1000
Kenwood TM271A/Moto GM300 2m & 70cm/Moto VHF Spectra
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 12-31-2012, 9:02 PM
semo's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Dunklin County, Missouri
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wb0wao View Post
The Cape Girardeau site has switched over to P25 - I don't have a digital scanner to confirm this, but there is nothing on the old EDACS system, and the control channel has a much different sound to it now.
I have logged these the last few days. Pro96com doesnt show alt channels and they seem to change like edacs control channels do.

control site
854.0625 28-001
854.7625 24-001
855.9125 31-001
__________________
http://scansemo.wordpress.com
PSR 500, BCD996XT, Pro-2036, Pro-106
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2013, 3:17 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by semo View Post
I have logged these the last few days. Pro96com doesnt show alt channels and they seem to change like edacs control channels do.

control site
854.0625 28-001
854.7625 24-001
855.9125 31-001
That's odd as the Alt's show up here on the Ameren P25 sites in Pro96com that I can receive. I can hear about 6 sites at least from my home location.
I also do not see them changing the CC's on the P25 sites here. Maybe they are still working out the bugs on that new P25 site?

Is your copy of Pro96com the latest version? I have seen some MOSWIN sites not show the Alt CC's but most seem to pull that data from the CC stream.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2013, 7:38 PM
Starcom21's Avatar
IL/MO/MI Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Glen Carbon, IL (MetroEast-St Louis)
Posts: 713
Default Site NACs

Please try to get site NAC tones too please.

Uniden - don't know

GRE - Shows up as Nxxx on Control Channel display or tune mode

thanks!
__________________
Terry Weatherford, WX9SAR
IL / MO / MI - RR Database Admin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2013, 1:17 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starcom21 View Post
Please try to get site NAC tones too please.

Uniden - don't know

GRE - Shows up as Nxxx on Control Channel display or tune mode

thanks!
I cannot get my Uniden 996XT to show NAC tones for anything. I even did a manual direct entry of the Starcom Madison County site and it asked what the audio type was so I selected digital. It then asked if I'd like to enter a NAC tone or search for the NAC. I told it to search but I sure can't find where that info may be displayed. All it shows is the system ID and tower ID. I even ran Pro96com on the CC data but no NAC displayed there either. I then tried Proscan logging but still no NAC shown.
The PSR600 does show the NAC as 14E for Madison County.
I guess I'll need to try and remember to fire up the PSR600 when I'm getting NAC codes.
I wonder if Unitrunker may display that info when using a Uniden. I may try that over the upcoming weekend.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 1:49 AM
Seņor Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruser View Post
I wonder if Unitrunker may display that info when using a Uniden. I may try that over the upcoming weekend.
Nope, sorry. You'll need discriminator audio, a PSR800, or an HP1E. Most inline models strip out the NAC when streaming control channel data.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 2:02 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruser View Post
I cannot get my Uniden 996XT to show NAC tones for anything. I even did a manual direct entry of the Starcom Madison County site and it asked what the audio type was so I selected digital. It then asked if I'd like to enter a NAC tone or search for the NAC. I told it to search but I sure can't find where that info may be displayed. All it shows is the system ID and tower ID. I even ran Pro96com on the CC data but no NAC displayed there either. I then tried Proscan logging but still no NAC shown.
Are you trying that on the control channel frequency? If so, it's not going to work. Program some of the voice channel frequencies in conventional mode with NAC Search enabled, and when there is a transmission it will display the NAC that's in use. The NAC should be the same for all voice channel frequencies at a given site.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 2:12 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unitrunker View Post
Nope, sorry. You'll need discriminator audio, a PSR800, or an HP1E. Most inline models strip out the NAC when streaming control channel data.
Gee, you took all the fun away! Na, just kidding and I thank you for letting me know before I wasted my time trying.

I'll just use the PSR-600 when I need the NAC info for Terry's needs.

Wait, if I'm reading your reply correctly, I can see the NAC as long as I'm using Unitrunker with true discriminator audio correct?
That's easy enough as I have a ton of non digital scanners with discriminator taps.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 2:41 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chauffeur6 View Post
Are you trying that on the control channel frequency? If so, it's not going to work. Program some of the voice channel frequencies in conventional mode with NAC Search enabled, and when there is a transmission it will display the NAC that's in use. The NAC should be the same for all voice channel frequencies at a given site.
Great! Thanks for that info. I knew there must be a way otherwise why even have the NAC search setting if it does not display the results on the screen.
Does the 996 or 396 need to be in a certain "display mode" in order to see the NAC. Like Mode 1 or 2? Mode 3 just shows the system activity on the 3rd line while mode 1 or 2 shows more useful info like the actual frequency the radio tuned to or the talkgroup. I always forget which display mode shows what info other than mode 3 which I never use.
I would think mode 1 as that shows other info like LNK, ENC, P25 etc. along with the tuned frequency. At least when you are scanning a P25 trunked system.

Edit: Wow, it worked! The display mode does not seem to matter.
As long as you are tuned to a voice frequency in conventional mode with the freq set as digital only and then select NAC Search like your instructions say.
I thought my Icom R2500 displayed the NAC also but I can only see the TG and Radio ID on its display.
Oh well, now I know how to get the NAC when I only have a Uniden running.
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2013, 3:20 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruser View Post
Wait, if I'm reading your reply correctly, I can see the NAC as long as I'm using Unitrunker with true discriminator audio correct?
If you run Unitrunker on the control channel using a tapped scanner/receiver, you will see the NAC on the Info tab of the Site window. It usually shows up in two places on that screen, towards the top in the Access column, and towards the bottom in the NAC column.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kruser View Post
Great! Thanks for that info. I knew there must be a way otherwise why even have the NAC search setting if it does not display the results on the screen.
Does the 996 or 396 need to be in a certain "display mode" in order to see the NAC. Like Mode 1 or 2? Mode 3 just shows the system activity on the 3rd line while mode 1 or 2 shows more useful info like the actual frequency the radio tuned to or the talkgroup. I always forget which display mode shows what info other than mode 3 which I never use.
I would think mode 1 as that shows other info like LNK, ENC, P25 etc. along with the tuned frequency. At least when you are scanning a P25 trunked system.

Edit: Wow, it worked! The display mode does not seem to matter.
As long as you are tuned to a voice frequency in conventional mode with the freq set as digital only and then select NAC Search like your instructions say.
I thought my Icom R2500 displayed the NAC also but I can only see the TG and Radio ID on its display.
Oh well, now I know how to get the NAC when I only have a Uniden running.
The display mode shouldn't matter. The key is to monitor the voice channel frequencies in digital/NAC search mode so that the scanner can decode the NAC. When you listen to a P25 trunked system voice frequency in conventional mode, the scanner treats it no differently than a standard conventional P25 frequency. In fact, it doesn't even know it's part of a trunked system, nor does it care.

You can do the same thing with Motorola Type II systems that use the P25 CAI, if you want to figure out the NAC. Unitrunker does not decode the Site NAC for Motorola systems, so I'm pretty sure that's the only way to figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2013, 1:29 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hannibal, MO
Posts: 3
Default Hannibal Tower

I need to do a little traveling soon, hopefully I can figure out who the neighbors are.

FileVersion:7
-TowerInfo
#This section is here for information only. With the exception
#of the Call Sign(s), This data is not Read back into the program at all.
System ID : 010
System Name :
WACN : 85343
Tower Number (Decimal): 12-1
Tower Number (Hex) : T0C01
Tower Description :
Control Capabilities : Data,Voice,Registration
Call Sign(s) :
Timestamp : Sat Jun 1 12:44:06 2013

-Tables
#Format: Table ID,Base Freq,Spacing,Input Offset,Assumed/Confirmed,BandWidth,Slots
00,851.01250,0.01250,-45.00000,"Confirmed",0.00625,1

-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0466","vp",856.83750,"00-0466",811.83750,0,0
"00-0626","c",858.83750,"00-0626",813.83750,1,0
"00-0706","vp",859.83750,"00-0706",814.83750,0,0

-Neighbors
#Format: TowerID,TowerIDHex,System ID,Channel,Frequency,Tower Name
1401,"T0E01",010,"00-0666",859.33750,""
2001,"T1401",010,"00-0458",856.73750,""
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2014, 10:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Butler, Mo (few days a month lol)
Posts: 1,442
Default

This one is not in the DB.

Tower Number (Decimal): 47-1
Tower Number (Hex) : T2F01

-Frequencies
#Format: Channel,Usage,Frequency(/Slot),Input Channel,Input Frequency(/Slot),Input Explicit(1/0),Hit Count
"00-0504","c",857.31250,"00-0504",812.31250,0,0

-Neighbors
#Format: TowerID,TowerIDHex,System ID,Channel,Frequency,Tower Name
1101,"T0B01",010,"00-0542",857.78750,""
1313,"T0D0D",010,"00-0362",855.53750,""
3001,"T1E01",010,"00-0374",855.68750,"Cadet - Franklin County"
3901,"T2701",010,"00-0566",858.08750,""
4801,"T3001",010,"00-0428",856.36250,""
4901,"T3101",010,"00-0366",855.58750,""


They do use some odd site numbers.
Rx Rate between 50-80%..not the best signal here.
__________________
VFB Stuttgart Deutscher Meister 2006/2007
RS Pro 92(b), 95, 96
Kenwood TK-280 (146-174MHz)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions