RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Missouri Radio Discussion Forum

Missouri Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Missouri.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2014, 5:20 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North of the River Kansas City
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KF0TW View Post
Might have been, but I've got those always enabled, unless they were using a Moswin frequency in analog mode or because of distance from my house, couldn't pick them up. I know 2 or 3 of the Troop I dispatchers. Maybe will ask them sometime. Thanks.

Normally when troopers move to Tac 5 it is 7Tac5D (Direct) 764.14375 P25
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #202 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2014, 5:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Clinton County, MO
Posts: 663
Default New Site 147

Renick is reporting a new site neighbor number 147 with a control channel of 769.40625
Reply With Quote
  #203 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2014, 11:52 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 263
Default

The more I read postings on MOSWIN and the old Lo Band for MSHP and find out the huge number of channels and frequencies and TG's for the patrol I am amazed. I believe that if you took a total listing of the old lo band radios there was/is probably over 100 channels/freqs in them. With MOSWIN it seems to be the same. The lo band - UHF statewide repeaters, in car repeaters, c to c channels, simplex channels etc, it amazes me that any of the troopers can figure it out. They must spend weeks in classroom training just for radio operations. Even with MOSWIN and it basically being a statewide repeater system I heard a Troop C dispatcher tell a trooper on scene of the huge crash on Hwy 55 the other day tell him to either go to his car radio or activate his car repeater for his WT. I did not know you could repeat a repeated TG! And the fact that the dispatcher could tell that he was using his WT vs the car radio was interesting too. Guess there is some kind of ID that shows up somewhere in the dispatch room that says what radio is being used.

All of it is amazing. Just amazing. I guess I am going to have to spend more time figuring their radios out.
Reply With Quote
  #204 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2014, 2:38 PM
hkrharry's Avatar
Member - RR DB AdminMo/Ks
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: In the middle of the USA
Posts: 408
Post

You would be surprised to know what all goes on the OSW of the trunked control channel.

Go here to read up on how it works: Trunked Radio Systems - The RadioReference Wiki

HH


Quote:
Originally Posted by scanman1958 View Post
The more I read postings on MOSWIN and the old Lo Band for MSHP and find out the huge number of channels and frequencies and TG's for the patrol I am amazed. I believe that if you took a total listing of the old lo band radios there was/is probably over 100 channels/freqs in them. With MOSWIN it seems to be the same. The lo band - UHF statewide repeaters, in car repeaters, c to c channels, simplex channels etc, it amazes me that any of the troopers can figure it out. They must spend weeks in classroom training just for radio operations. Even with MOSWIN and it basically being a statewide repeater system I heard a Troop C dispatcher tell a trooper on scene of the huge crash on Hwy 55 the other day tell him to either go to his car radio or activate his car repeater for his WT. I did not know you could repeat a repeated TG! And the fact that the dispatcher could tell that he was using his WT vs the car radio was interesting too. Guess there is some kind of ID that shows up somewhere in the dispatch room that says what radio is being used.

All of it is amazing. Just amazing. I guess I am going to have to spend more time figuring their radios out.
Reply With Quote
  #205 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2014, 4:54 PM
AC0RV's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Park Hills, MO
Posts: 1,003
Question

In the post about tac 5 (post 201 or I think). How do I enter it on the 436 HP ?

Thanks
__________________
May the LORD watch over you and your Family.
David F AC0RV
Skywarn # M187201
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #206 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2014, 9:35 PM
teufler's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ST PETERS, MISSOURI
Posts: 633
Default

I'll bite. What is OSW mean. I've tried different acronyms but so far , a blank.
__________________
WD0GSY
BC-396XT, BC 780XLT, BCD 296D, AOR 8000, RS-106, RS-2067,TEN TEC PARAGON,KW D-700,DR-135, VX-10,VX-7, VX-3, UV-3
Reply With Quote
  #207 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2014, 9:43 PM
teufler's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ST PETERS, MISSOURI
Posts: 633
Default

the car repeater is a crossband repeater similar to many ham radios. Depending on the repeater being used, not the car radio, can extend range clear across the state of multiple states. Activation of the car radio is as simple as pressing one button. If the mobile unit contacts a base with internet, from at HT communications can go around the world. Not bad for 5 watts
__________________
WD0GSY
BC-396XT, BC 780XLT, BCD 296D, AOR 8000, RS-106, RS-2067,TEN TEC PARAGON,KW D-700,DR-135, VX-10,VX-7, VX-3, UV-3
Reply With Quote
  #208 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 6:24 AM
nick1427d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teufler View Post
I'll bite. What is OSW mean. I've tried different acronyms but so far , a blank.
Outbound Signaling Word

Users/subscribers send Inbound Signaling Words
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #209 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2014, 4:49 PM
hkrharry's Avatar
Member - RR DB AdminMo/Ks
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: In the middle of the USA
Posts: 408
Default

Sorry, yes the OSW is the Control Channle you hear.

If you use Trunker or UniTrunker you can see what is going on there.

Some of us have been using the above progams for many years now so the OSW is a common acronym for us.

UniTrunker - The RadioReference Wiki (Windows)

for you old schoolers....
Trunker - The RadioReference Wiki (DOS)

And General Info on other stuff...............
Trunked Radio Decoders - The RadioReference Wiki

HH
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #210 (permalink)  
Old 06-25-2014, 6:18 PM
AC0RV's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Park Hills, MO
Posts: 1,003
Smile MO DNR

Is anyone getting of the radio traffic on DNRs 20801 DNR Environmental Emergency Response: 001 today.

Earlier a man and a woman was I (think) escorting an oversized loaded near Highway 7 and KK. The UIDs(RIDs) I got was 11702 (Male voice) and 11708 (female voice), the same frame (9-now) a male came on with a UID(RID) of 11700.

Thats all for now. I will to idenitify them as well,
__________________
May the LORD watch over you and your Family.
David F AC0RV
Skywarn # M187201
Reply With Quote
  #211 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2014, 1:06 PM
mgolden2's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 269
Default

Aviation tg 20203 is quite active in Kansas City today

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #212 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2014, 5:10 PM
teufler's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ST PETERS, MISSOURI
Posts: 633
Default

O'Fallon Mo, talk group 10711, a new one, active today on the parade and fireworks duty. Running licenses and traffic control.
__________________
WD0GSY
BC-396XT, BC 780XLT, BCD 296D, AOR 8000, RS-106, RS-2067,TEN TEC PARAGON,KW D-700,DR-135, VX-10,VX-7, VX-3, UV-3
Reply With Quote
  #213 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2014, 9:34 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 263
Question Waynesville (Pulaski Co) Site

Was in the Laclede and Dallas Co area this weekend and was monitoring MOSWIN sites from around the area. I was able to pick up about six sites (some better than others) and the reception was very good overall. I did notice that trying to pick up Pulaski Co's site was difficult. I was unable to monitor that site until I was in my car (outside mount antenna) and was actually on Hwy 44 near Mercy Hosp in Lebanon. Sounds like the Waynesville site is a very weak (power) site or very directional (possibly in the northern direction). Anyone from the area have difficulty picking them up?
Reply With Quote
  #214 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2014, 1:44 AM
dispatch235's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dixon, Missouri
Posts: 33
Default

I live in the north edge of Pulaski county and receive the site as strong as any other county. As far as I know it is not directional, but I have noticed I can hear Pulaski 911 much farther east on I 44 than I can west.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #215 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2014, 2:01 AM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanman1958 View Post
Was in the Laclede and Dallas Co area this weekend and was monitoring MOSWIN sites from around the area. I was able to pick up about six sites (some better than others) and the reception was very good overall. I did notice that trying to pick up Pulaski Co's site was difficult. I was unable to monitor that site until I was in my car (outside mount antenna) and was actually on Hwy 44 near Mercy Hosp in Lebanon. Sounds like the Waynesville site is a very weak (power) site or very directional (possibly in the northern direction). Anyone from the area have difficulty picking them up?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dispatch235 View Post
I live in the north edge of Pulaski county and receive the site as strong as any other county. As far as I know it is not directional, but I have noticed I can hear Pulaski 911 much farther east on I 44 than I can west.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
There are two different towers for MOSWIN in Pulaski county. One is located off Missouri Avenue in St. Robert on a commercial cell phone tower. The other is on I-44 on the top of that hill between St. Robert/Waynesville.

Terrain is part of the factor in not picking up Pulaski's MOSWIN in Laclede county. There are a lot of hills between Lebanon and Waynesville. I can't pick up Laclede's MOSWIN site from St. Robert very well unless I use a better antenna.
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #216 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2014, 6:07 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 263
Default

Thanks for the info on the Pulaski site(s). The main listing on RR only shows one tower/site in Waynesville. It does not show one in St Robert. I am wondering how many other sites there are for MOSWIN that are not listed.

I am sure terrain has a lot to do with signals in the area around Lebanon. As you mention, it is very hilly. I agree with your reception results. Better to the east along 44 than west. I think, but I am not sure, that the Lebanon site is also on a cell tower a little behind Mercy Hospital.

I am still watching out for all the new sites either just online or coming soon to a county near you.
Reply With Quote
  #217 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2014, 11:33 PM
AC0RV's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Park Hills, MO
Posts: 1,003
Default

I have been on a update to the current MOSWIN Google Map using the location from the RR's database

On google Earth it shows the St Louis South Site northeast of the St Louis North site.

I have rechecked the Lat and Lon with the ones in the database and their the sames ones I have.

Could someone please check them out.


Big thanks.
__________________
May the LORD watch over you and your Family.
David F AC0RV
Skywarn # M187201
Reply With Quote
  #218 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2014, 9:53 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 263
Question

I understand your frustration. I too have tried to "find" tower sites for MOSWIN and have conflicting information. The Imperial site for one. There is a lat & long listing but that info puts the tower/site way down in Cedar Hill. There is also an address listed but the tower that is fairly close to that address (using the term close loosly here) has no MOSWIN signal coming from it. I think the tower is closer to Hwy 55......somewhere. so i would ask too, whats up with this?
Reply With Quote
  #219 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2014, 11:05 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanman1958 View Post
I understand your frustration. I too have tried to "find" tower sites for MOSWIN and have conflicting information. The Imperial site for one. There is a lat & long listing but that info puts the tower/site way down in Cedar Hill. There is also an address listed but the tower that is fairly close to that address (using the term close loosly here) has no MOSWIN signal coming from it. I think the tower is closer to Hwy 55......somewhere. so i would ask too, whats up with this?
The Imperial tower really is off 21 near Rock Creek rd on Black Berry lane. Or it was the last time I drove out there. If they change it, there should be a license modification showing the new coordinates.
I always go to the FCC site and lookup the callsign and get the coordinates from the actual license. That info is usually correct unless the state submitted incorrect data to the FCC.
Some of the user database info here is incorrect regarding coordinates and needs user submissions to correct it. You can see that by comparing what is shown here in the database with what is shown from the FCC data that this site pulls fairly often or better yet, search the FCC site for the actual callsign and see what the license says. Each site here will pretty much have what is pulled directly from the FCC but often in a more user freindly format plus there will always be a link to the actual FCC site.
The data that is used if you are using GPS based scanning is what is displayed first here when you click a site name. That is the data that will be imported into your radio. If the data is way off from the true FCC records, you could miss something if letting GPS control your radio but I find that most are close enough unless you really have range control tightend up.
The page here for each site that shows the sites range is user submitted data in many cases. That is where I see the most errors for range and/or coordinates.
From that page, you should see the sites callsigns listed near the bottom. Those callsigns are clickable links. Some do not work as they were cancelled maybe but never removed from that page. Click through those callsigns and you eventually hit one that will pull up a page with actual FCC license data. It will also show the date when the data was last pulled from the FCC site. That is the page that will be the most accurate but that data is not what is imported into your radio.
It would be very time consuming for the DB Admins to pour through that data and compare it with what is listed on the page that the imports come from so they rely upon users to submit the correct data.
I bet that could be automated but I notice the DB and the FCC data use different types of coordinate info so that could complicate things.
One uses Degrees, Minutes and Seconds and the other uses the Decimal format.
The coordinates shown here from the true FCC data are in a format that you can copy and paste into Google Maps then switch over to Sat view and actually see the tower for most. Some of the sites even have street view available. If you copy the coordinate data directly from the official FCC license, google maps will not understand it until you remove some characters and get it back into a format that google maps will understand.

The site names for Moswin do not always truly indicate the sites true location I find. I think a lot of the names are based on what the original survey study showed as the most favorable location for the sites when the system was still on paper. Then those names just stuck. They are the same names as what the state has them listed as in the official Moswin documentation unless a user has submitted a more accurate name.

The Imperial site actually sits more halfway between Imperial and Cedar Hill so they could have based the name off the nearest town with the larger population or a town with a population of xx amount of people or greater. No idea why they picked the names they did.
I bet the state has nice maps with true site locations and microwave paths on it! I'm sure they guard that info though and only publicly publish the generic maps we can see online.

Finding site locations can be frustrating!
I also wish there was a better way of figuring out which tower the signal is coming from on a simulcast site with many towers. They all transmit the same tower ID and other info.
Reply With Quote
  #220 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2014, 12:57 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 263
Default

Very nice reply. Yep frustrating. I saw the tower you are talking about off Blackberry Ln (i think) and I tested the signal strength as I have done many times with the city's sites. I take my antenna off my scanner look to see what the signal strength is. (Right now I am about five blocks from the city north tower and without an antenna I am getting 5 bars) when I was at or near the Imperial site I received nothing. Not even one bar. The signal came back when the antenna was reattached. But driving up Hwy 55 near Imperial Main and further north i did pick up a couple bars for the Imperial site without an antenna. A very primitive test for sure. Thanks for the info. I will keep trying. Stay cool and hydrated everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions