RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Missouri Radio Discussion Forum

Missouri Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Missouri.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2014, 9:02 PM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 711
Default Mystery 800 MHz Trunked System

Hey gang,

I had a nice afternoon on the deck drinking coffee and scanning.

I figured out you can find control channels on the 396XT by playing around with the settings.

I set a custom search on the 800 MHz band just to see what I'd find.

I got a hit on 855.7875 MHz and the display read :



What am I seeing here? There isn't a county named Kitsap in Missouri..I'm located in Pulaski County and it's a very strong signal on the rubber duck.
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2014, 9:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Default

Ameren site in Phelps Co?

AmerenMissouri (P25) Trunking System, St Louis Metro Area/E MO, Multi-State - Scanner Frequencies
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2014, 10:51 PM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 711
Default

Same frequency. Yep, could be. But what's with "Kitsap County"?

Maybe it's an anagram...hmm..

Ask Pit 800 MHz
Spa Kit 800 MHz

lol...
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2014, 6:10 AM
nick1427d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Default

Did you reset your scanner after you got it? I remember my BCD396 having preprogrammed state trunking systems in it. So even though you were searching, it is associating that CC with a preprogrammed ID.
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2014, 1:19 PM
dpm3's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dash Point, WA
Posts: 78
Default

Kitsap County is located out here in Western Washington. I'd go with the suggestion that perhaps the scanner has automatically associated the frequency with a system programmed in it's firmware.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2014, 2:45 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default just one question (now)

so when my 396xt searches 851-854 and hits my county it should say CHARLOTTE COUNTY and not the 582Ah that my 396t and 396xt does?
it could be that the programmer for the system was having fun or he might be from washington and thought no one would see it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2014, 3:30 PM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick1427d View Post
Did you reset your scanner after you got it? I remember my BCD396 having preprogrammed state trunking systems in it. So even though you were searching, it is associating that CC with a preprogrammed ID.

No, I did not reset it. You might be on the right track though. It's hitting on some system stored on memory.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dpm3 View Post
Kitsap County is located out here in Western Washington. I'd go with the suggestion that perhaps the scanner has automatically associated the frequency with a system programmed in it's firmware.
The first thing I did was look up Kitsap County and found it was only located in Washington state.

I searched through the scanner's memory and did not find any system located in Washington state.

The scanner has the ability to read system names on C-Ch only I believe. That's why I'm still thrown for a loop with "Kitsap County". lol..



UPMan is Kitsap County programmed at the factory for that frequency?
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2014, 12:30 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 271
Default

Try searching/scanning Washington State and see if the scanner stops on that same trunked system.

Sorry if anyone else already suggested that.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 3:21 AM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanman1958 View Post
Try searching/scanning Washington State and see if the scanner stops on that same trunked system.

Sorry if anyone else already suggested that.
There's no stored system from Washington state. But good thinking.

Oh well...guess it'll stay a mystery. lol.
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 8:30 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
Posts: 647
Default

The control channel does not send out system "names". System names are "associated" with System ID's by the users and are not part of the control channel information.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 10:28 AM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default so

so the fact that i have seen polk county ,lee county, sarasota county,pinellas county,de soto county and others as i have driven around with none of them being in the 396xt means what ??
to me that means that it is in the data being sent out. and my own county says 582Ah and not charlotte like is in the radio.
hey, if you want to test it then name it "unknown" as a system and see if that pops up.
i still say someone was having fun on the system name.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 10:41 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Shawnee Kansas (Kansas City)
Posts: 647
Default

Your scanner has been programmed with those names. It does not come across the control channel. A good example is when you put your scanner in the ID Search mode and it finds a new talk group it will display a number, not an alpha tag. Same goes with system names. Until you program in an alpha tag it will display a number. If it shows names they either came from the pre-programmed systems/talk groups already in the radio or were added manually.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 3:56 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default the point

i had driven up 75 and the radio said polk county without it being programmed in the radio.
and what about my county just having a number and not the name i put in???
after having the radio (396t) i wiped out all the systems except my own and was traveling around the country.
in custom search with cc on almost all the county systems gave their name. it was easier to search at the time 866-869 and let the radio do its thing then to program where i would be going.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 4:05 PM
nick1427d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtp View Post
so the fact that i have seen polk county ,lee county, sarasota county,pinellas county,de soto county and others as i have driven around with none of them being in the 396xt means what ??
to me that means that it is in the data being sent out. and my own county says 582Ah.
Is this the system you are referring to?:

Charlotte County Public Services Trunking System, Charlotte County, Florida - Scanner Frequencies

Note the system ID...
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2014, 4:45 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default yes

but i do not see how the radio would check your systems to give a name to a search system. and what would happen if two control channels were the same (overlap) but not in the same area?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:19 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default a re-read

now i see what some of them thought ...
they thought that it was a programmed system.
they had not noticed the search as in custom search.
so i stand by my posts.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:29 PM
pinballwiz86's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtp View Post
now i see what some of them thought ...
they thought that it was a programmed system.
they had not noticed the search as in custom search.
so i stand by my posts.
I didn't run any pre-programmed systems. I did a control channel search.
__________________
Scanners:
Uniden BC125AT // Uniden BCD396XT // Uniden BCT15X // GRE PSR-310
Amateur Radio:
Icom 718 // Baofeng UV-5R+ // Yaesu FT-2900R // Yaesu FT-7900R
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 04-19-2014, 10:40 PM
wtp wtp is offline
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: port charlotte fl
Posts: 866
Default yes

but everybody else read it wrong. they thought it was a programmed system. and yes if it was that would happen.

but did you find out where it is?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2014, 8:59 PM
nick1427d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtp View Post
but everybody else read it wrong. they thought it was a programmed system. and yes if it was that would happen.
No that's not what we said. We stated that it was one of the pre-programmed systems placed there by Uniden when they ship out.

The control channel is not sending any type of data that the scanner could decode and then form a site or system name without SOMEBODY creating the name on the scanner/radio end.

Even the actual radios used on the system see the system and associated sites as numbers and letters as they are usually stated in the database.

Factory reset your scanner
__________________
Nick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions