RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2008, 2:24 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2
Question HT1250 Radio Locked Issue

I have had this VHF 1250 for nearly 4 years and using it as my personal Radio during Patrol. With me in Law Enforcement I wanted the radio to be locked when turned on.. It would ask ENTER PASSWORD. I would enter my assigned password and then I would be locked in. I had it Password protected at powerup that way no one would find it if lost and transmit on my Departments freqs.

Anyway.. I actually left this radio for about an hour at a friends.. And apparently he took it and tried to figure out the password. According to Motorola it Locked the radio.. due to to many incorrect tries of the password, it locked it..

now the radio only says RADIO LOCKED and cannot get it to allow me to log in or anything..

I read the radio with my laptop with my RIB and software.. and tried to uncheck my password login and it will not write to radio nor allow me to unselect the disable password login at startup.

I have never seen this on this radio in the 4 years of me owning this.. My friend isnt into radio he has no clue about this stuff so I know he didnt nor would he ever try to have it programmed and with only an hour of the radio there wouldnt even be much time for issues to have happened..

I have tried pushing many buttons then turning power on to allow me to enter my password.. I have held nearly every combination of buttons I could think of trying to get into a menu.. the only thing it will allow me to do it put it in CLONE mode.. thats it.. otherwise screen says RADIO LOCKED..

also it does have a full DTMF pad also..
Thanks for all the help..
Hope someone has some info or help..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2008, 7:50 PM
N2MWE's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: People's Republic of New York
Posts: 1,816
Default

If nobody knows here, go to www.batlabs.com
__________________
Sic vis pacem, para bellum...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2008, 8:47 PM
w0web's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 60
Default Ht-1250

I would try and call the big /\/\ @ (800) 814-0601 and ask for post sells support, I do have an account and have found them to be very helpful with radio support.
they asked for a copy of the codeplug to be sent to them and they sent it back corrected and all I needed to do was write it back to the radio ( all while I was on the phone with them)
__________________
George H. (wweb)
scanner4@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2008, 9:19 PM
gatekeep's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 321
Default

Leave the radio turned on for 15 minutes. It should unlock and allow you to enter your password. If it does not unlock, then you have to, have the depot repair the radio.
__________________
- Bryan, WQDK979
EFJohnson 5100 UHF-L III, XTS2500i UHF-H III, ASTRO Saber UHF-L III, MTS2000 UHF-L III, MT2000 UHF-H I, MT2000 VHF I, HT1250 UHF-L II, Baofeng UV-B5
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2008, 11:38 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2
Default

THanks for the replies.. I had the radio off for 15 minutes.. Same thing.. Says Radio Locked.. I will take it back to Moto shop see what they say this time.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2011, 11:30 AM
Astrak's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k9kop View Post
THanks for the replies.. I had the radio off for 15 minutes.. Same thing.. Says Radio Locked.. I will take it back to Moto shop see what they say this time.
I think he was saying to leave it ON for 15 minutes.
__________________
WWW.APSN.US
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2011, 3:13 PM
XTS3000's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 775
Default

There is a small coin cell battery in these radios. If it doens't come back to life after 15 minutes, replace the internal coin cell battery. With dead coin cell, the radios internal clock stops.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2011, 8:31 PM
joetnymedic's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Haven, CT
Posts: 941
Default

did you ever fix your radio or did the shop have to do it?
__________________
Uniden 396XT, Pro 163, BC345XT, BC700A, Pro 528. PRO 2018, PRO 136, Motorola Visar-UHF , Pro-197 (X2), Motorola CDM 1550' (X2) (UHF) Minitor 3&4 (4). BC200XLT, Baofeng UV-5RA (x2), UV-82L
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1250 issue, ht1250, radio locked

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions