RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 6:29 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default Problem w/ MT2000 Programming

Hi All,

Maybe someone can help with the issues I am having with MT2000 software and/or the radio. I am using Motorola Radio Software, Version R06.07.00 to program a MT2000 portable. With said, the Scan List and Zone/Channel Assignment will not let me view any channels after the listed 1-8, 17-24, 33-48 therefore, I can not change channels 9-16 and 25-32 with adding/deleting frequency, alias or scanning mode. In addition, I can only scan 8 channels and unfortunately, ultimately can not change any channels that aren't listed in Zone/Channel Assignments.

Any help would be great and if additional information is needed, please let me know.

Thanks,
J
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 7:21 PM
b7spectra's Avatar
EMS Dispatcher
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cobb County, GA
Posts: 3,255
Default

Have you tried the Page Down button the your keyboard?
__________________


/
\/\|k.e

EMS Dispatcher/EMD Certified
http://icanhasdriverslicense.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2010, 7:46 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you for the reply, B7spectra. I have tried that several times, I am going to dig out an old laptop in the basement to see if maybe the keyboard has a problem. I'll let you know as soon as I find out!

Thanks again,
J
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 3:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Default

I tried programming on a different computer and it worked fine. It appears that the keyboard went on the computer I was using. Thanks B7Spectra for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-11-2010, 7:56 PM
b7spectra's Avatar
EMS Dispatcher
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cobb County, GA
Posts: 3,255
Default

Anytime!
__________________


/
\/\|k.e

EMS Dispatcher/EMD Certified
http://icanhasdriverslicense.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2011, 10:32 AM
hkmeehan's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brielle, NJ
Posts: 4
Default

Hello radio world.. I am having a problem reading my codeplug on my MT2000 (H01SDH9AA7AN) i'm using rss version R06.00.00, when i attempt to read it i get to like 6 or 7% then get a checksum error or request not ACKed/NAKed error.. Does anyone possible have a resolution for it or possibly a clean codeplug i can program into it? If so i would greatly appreciate it.. my e-mail is hkmeehan@comcast.net..

I hope someone can help.. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2012, 11:07 PM
   
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default motorola mts2000 programming

i have a motorola mts2000. i am trying to program it but when the software goes to read the code plug this comes up >REQUEST NOT ACKed/NAKed ERROR< does any one know how to fix this
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2012, 8:52 AM
uniden278's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Winthrop, MA
Posts: 67
Default

From what I was reading elsewhere on the net, here are some things to check:

-Make sure the programming cable is making good contact with the pins on the side of the radio.
-Make sure the RIB box is properly powered. If it's battery powered, replace the battery.
-Make sure the programming cable has a good ground.

It could also be a software issue (computer running too fast, etc), but the culprit is likely one of the above issues, assuming you have used this setup successfully before.
__________________
Too many radios to list!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2012, 11:49 AM
   
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

i replaced the battery, and made shore that the radio was conected and i still i got the same error
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2012, 7:18 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 642
Default

Some RIB do not play well with the RS232 on some computers.
I posted on this in another post recently.

The RIB was poorly engineered and does not match the RS232 standard signal levels. The aftermarket ones are no better, just knock-off copies.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2012, 7:26 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 642
Default

Also some RI Boxes will not work on some radios. Even factory Motorola. Even on different computers. One of the problems might be a lack of negative voltage swing on the Busy out and RX (data out) lines back to the computer. You might want to try and change the value of R14 to 1.5k and R11 to 1K.

I did some extensive research (1990's) with the Motorola RIB's, And made some modifications make to some of the values to make the circuit more compatible with RS232. The modified schematic can be found here.see: http://www.batlabs.com/images/rib_mod.jpg
This already has the standard RS232 25 pin connector on it.

There is even a more modern version of the RIB. and the beat goes on.....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2012, 5:06 PM
   
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Default

i have a motorola mts2000 i need to program it. i have cps r01.05.14 i need to update it. how can i update it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
motorola, mt2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions