RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Motorola Forum


Motorola Forum - For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2010, 5:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 10
Default Astro Saber Help Needed

Hello,

I have a Saber 3 that I have used for the fire service for years. My department is going to switch to narrow band and p25, so I am looking at buying a Astro Saber 3 (share same batteries and accessories) but have some questions. I located a seller with a Astro Saber 3, he says:
VHF 136-174MHz P25 digital ASTRO Saber III. YES, IT IS P25 Digital! Firmware version: R04.01.02 DSP I06.03.00 Flashcode: 540001-000000-4. It is secure-equipped with DVP and DES-XL encryption. If you chose to upgrade the firmware the DES-XL will start showing as DES-XL, DES-OFB because it adds the 2.5 kHz spacing.

He said it is narrow band capable but need to be sent to someone for $100 to make it work. Is this something that can be done thru CPS with the software? (I have the RSS for the Saber 3 and have done my own programming; I know I will need the CPS to do the Astro Saber). Its not clear to me what I would be paying for and I have access to the CPS to program myself. Can someone help me and explain to me what I would need to do to make this Astro Saber work in narrow band and p25? If this isnt ready to go or easily made ready to go, what should I look for in a Astro Saber?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2010, 12:26 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 2,825
Default Astro saber

You want to find a radio with host 7.xxxxxx & dsp 8.xxxxxx & a 1 meg radio. Flashcode # starting with 1 or 5. The radio you were looking at has a pretty old host/dsp. Check out Batlabs. Radios like you are looking for show up there from time to time. Good luck. GARY N4KVE
__________________
FORMERLY MOONBOOTS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2010, 1:25 PM
C138NC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountedmedic View Post
Hello,

I have a Saber 3 that I have used for the fire service for years. My department is going to switch to narrow band and p25, so I am looking at buying a Astro Saber 3 (share same batteries and accessories) but have some questions. I located a seller with a Astro Saber 3, he says:
VHF 136-174MHz P25 digital ASTRO Saber III. YES, IT IS P25 Digital! Firmware version: R04.01.02 DSP I06.03.00 Flashcode: 540001-000000-4. It is secure-equipped with DVP and DES-XL encryption. If you chose to upgrade the firmware the DES-XL will start showing as DES-XL, DES-OFB because it adds the 2.5 kHz spacing.

He said it is narrow band capable but need to be sent to someone for $100 to make it work. Is this something that can be done thru CPS with the software? (I have the RSS for the Saber 3 and have done my own programming; I know I will need the CPS to do the Astro Saber). Its not clear to me what I would be paying for and I have access to the CPS to program myself. Can someone help me and explain to me what I would need to do to make this Astro Saber work in narrow band and p25? If this isnt ready to go or easily made ready to go, what should I look for in a Astro Saber?

Thanks in advance!
must be the same one i looked at on ebay.
__________________
Claiborne (Me): It wont let me log in
Brandon: Im looking at all your failed logins
Claiborne (Me): yes I am a failure...
Brandon: lol
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2010, 2:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 10
Default

Thank you for the info. Its really helpful.

If I bought this radio, could it be flash upgraded? The seller said it could for $100. Is that rate reasonable? Is this something that has to be done by Motorola and not the CPS? Should I pass on this one and look for one like you described?

Thanks Again!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:14 AM
JnglMassiv's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago / 016
Posts: 983
Default

You do not need any sort of upgrade to program narrowband channels. Whether narrow or not is selectable during programming by, as you said, CPS.
__________________
...amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood. Passersby were amazed by the unusually large amounts of blood. Passersby were amazed by the...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 2:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 10
Default

Does the Astro Saber support Quick Call 2 Fire Dept Paging? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 3:24 PM
C138NC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 944
Default

Apparently the astro sabers do NOT support QCII, only Individual paging and calling if you catch my drift.
__________________
Claiborne (Me): It wont let me log in
Brandon: Im looking at all your failed logins
Claiborne (Me): yes I am a failure...
Brandon: lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions