RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:03 PM
kc2shw's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default motorola apx 7000 programming

I have one of these radios, and the radio is nice, rather expensive but i cant get the radio to detect in the cps. i reformatted a computer just for this purpose, its running windows xp, 32 bit, the computer recognizes it as a modem, and i can ping the modem. but beyond the thing is useless, what am i doing wrong or what am i missing? the help is desperately needed, and any answers would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 1:09 AM
XTS3000's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 860
Default

Install the USB drivers, and the CPS will communicate with the radio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 5:35 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,934
Default

I found that USB 1.1 can be a little bit of a problem. You may need to use 2.0 if it is an older machine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 7:10 AM
rc50won's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Previous replies are correct. You do not have the drivers loaded. The APX radios use IP addressing so they appear as a networked device. If you have a firewall you will have to grant permission for this device.

1. Install CPS. It will install the drivers.
2. Attach cable to computer, radio to cable, turn radio on. The first time yo do this the computer will prompt with New Hardware Found-so tell it to automatically install the drivers. Wait for the for the Device Ready to Use Message.
3. Launch CPS. Make sure under Device/Communication Method, USB is selected.
4. Click Read a radio-USB. Wait a bit it takes some time before it finishes and verifies the codeplug.

Latest CPS is R04.00.01

If you have programmed Motorola radios before then your in for an awakening. If you haven't programmed Motorola radios before then your in for a rude awakening.

Marshall
__________________
Marshall
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 7:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2shw View Post
I have one of these radios, and the radio is nice, rather expensive but i cant get the radio to detect in the cps. i reformatted a computer just for this purpose, its running windows xp, 32 bit, the computer recognizes it as a modem, and i can ping the modem. but beyond the thing is useless, what am i doing wrong or what am i missing? the help is desperately needed, and any answers would be greatly appreciated.
If you were watching when the program was trying to install, it come up with a notice that your computer would need 2 Megs of RAM to run.

Not all USB ports on a computer have full support for the connection. You might want to try a different port.

Make sure your connections at the radio are clean and secure.

Jim
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 6:55 PM
kc2shw's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default apx problem

i have done both of what was explained, could it be that version 2 cps which is the one that i am using is no good. or could it be like the johnson, where even if you have the software if it is not the right version you cant do anything. i am familiar with programming, i do it all the time, and am quite proficient at it, but this apx thing is a whole new ball game of pain in the neck.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2010, 7:48 PM
kc2shw's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim202 View Post
If you were watching when the program was trying to install, it come up with a notice that your computer would need 2 Megs of RAM to run.

Not all USB ports on a computer have full support for the connection. You might want to try a different port.

Make sure your connections at the radio are clean and secure.

Jim
I just finished messing with the computer again, and i have un installed the cps, and the tuner, even went as far as went into the registry and killed the key, removed the instance of the radio from the hardware device manager, and reinstalled everything fresh after a restart. no matter what i do here, the radio will not come up in cps, i need help big time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2010, 2:16 AM
RodStrong's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,035
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc50won View Post
If you have programmed Motorola radios before then your in for an awakening. If you haven't programmed Motorola radios before then your in for a rude awakening.

Marshall
Funny.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2010, 10:47 PM
kc2shw's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default apx problem

funny maybe not frustrating definitely yes. i went today and tried on another machine running windows 7, and something else came up stating that it was installing the drivers, and again, no communication. there is not a programming mode that the radio has to be put into right? you know like the cope 4 sabers where you have to hold the 3 buttons and power on then read, anything like maybe?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2010, 9:54 PM
The_Majik_Dodi's Avatar    
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default USB issues

I just tried to program my new APX this PM. I found that my pc was set to block unsigned drivers. Once I set my system to warn (or Allow, whatever you wish) I rebooted the system. Then I connected the radio, and went into the device manager and found where it was listed (in network devices I think). I selected the radio properties and selected update driver. This time the driver installed after I clicked the allow unsigned driver button. Boom! Instant gratification! Now to figure out where they moved everything to.

It was rather decieving that my pc never even asked me if I wanted to install the unsigned driver, it just did not do it. Oh yea, I am running XP SP3.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2010, 8:12 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,643
Default

I've got to disable my wifi connection before the cps will talk to my apx.

Latest version of apx cps is 4.00.02.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2010, 9:28 PM
kc2shw's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Default

I just tried to program my new APX this PM. I found that my pc was set to block unsigned drivers. Once I set my system to warn (or Allow, whatever you wish) I rebooted the system. Then I connected the radio, and went into the device manager and found where it was listed (in network devices I think). I selected the radio properties and selected update driver. This time the driver installed after I clicked the allow unsigned driver button. Boom! Instant gratification! Now to figure out where they moved everything to.

that works out great but one question, i have never seen that area where you can change that setting. where is that at, if you can tell the general location, i can find the rest, that might be what i need to do here, thanks for the info so far and its a lead in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2011, 7:36 PM
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Default APX Programming

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc2shw View Post
I have one of these radios, and the radio is nice, rather expensive but i cant get the radio to detect in the cps. i reformatted a computer just for this purpose, its running windows xp, 32 bit, the computer recognizes it as a modem, and i can ping the modem. but beyond the thing is useless, what am i doing wrong or what am i missing? the help is desperately needed, and any answers would be greatly appreciated.
I program APX radios for a major police department, I agree with the posts so far, however the latest software vesion is 5.0. The latest software version is a big improvement over the previous versions. Also if you are programming trunking systems you must have an advanced system key (a hardware device, usually a USB device) that only the Master System Key holder for that particular radio system can create) Also Motorola APX software is not compatible with Windows XP 64 bit. Stay with XP 32 bit or move up to Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2011, 12:41 AM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 518
Default

There is a flashcode option for APX to allow legacy system keys to work with that radio.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:26 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lower Hudson Valley New York
Posts: 1,667
Default

Or a hack, seen it in Dayton.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:57 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Memphis
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate22 View Post
I program APX radios for a major police department, I agree with the posts so far, however the latest software vesion is 5.0. The latest software version is a big improvement over the previous versions. Also if you are programming trunking systems you must have an advanced system key (a hardware device, usually a USB device) that only the Master System Key holder for that particular radio system can create) Also Motorola APX software is not compatible with Windows XP 64 bit. Stay with XP 32 bit or move up to Windows 7.
Nate, can I pick you brain? I just started editing a codeplug for a local FD and I'm frustrated already.

Can you have multiple sections open at the same time like the XTL/XTS cps? I like to view teh Zone/Channel while I am editing the personality/TALKGROUPS so I can see the changes live. And also see which changes need to be made. Same with Scan lists/systems/

Which brings up #2, can you re-sort the items? Like in the XTS cps you can right-click thten say "MOVE TO" a row?

This APX CPS seems like 2 steps backwards!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2012, 4:46 PM
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2
Default

The latest APX software version is now 7.0.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2012, 9:55 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

7.0 is a much better improvement from previous versions. I used the migration tool to convert a XTS5000 to APEX 7000 with some tweeking it seems to be going well. One thing I can't get the multi key to work. I used a KVL + same code as the XTS5000 but no luck - anybody have a hit or clue why it didn't work ?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2012, 9:08 AM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,643
Default

Depending on the KVL mode, you probably need to enable or disable PID key management.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2012, 2:30 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

After I enabled it and now I get Unknown Error! check target algorithm ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apx7000, apx7000 cable, apx7000 programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions