RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2010, 8:25 AM

Default Motorola Maxtrac 300

Hello, i looking for some info into the Motorola Maxtrac 300 UHF 8ch 40w Radio. Basically im looking for programming software, and a manual. i just purchased this radio and i need some help with it. im new to Motorola (im a Kenwood guy) i found this radio in Like New condition online and if anyone has programming software and cable as well as a manual they would like to sell please let me know. or, if there is any place online to find a manual to download that would be great. i have looked and cant find anything. Thanks.
Sponsored links
Old 09-28-2010, 9:30 AM

the software has been out of production for years, i don't know if you can even order it from M anymore. for the cable you just need the ribless cable available at any number of locations online, the same one fits the Maxtrac/Radius/etc.. radios.

there is not a lot of options to the 8 chan model, basically it is change channels, scan, and maybe horn/lights output-but i think tha twas only on the 32 chan models.

the Maxtrac is a solid radio, but i really hope you did not give much for it. the reference oscillator crystal is likely bad in it unless it has been changed in the last few years, they go bad quicker sitting on a shelf than actually in service. this crystal is about 60.00 plus probably close to 100.00(depending on local labor rates) to install/align the crystal. plus with narrowbanding coming up it will be good only for HAM use.
Old 09-28-2010, 9:45 AM