RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 6:55 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 523
Default XTS2500 on Harris P25?

Can the Xts2500 be programmed to work on a Harris P25 VHF digital system?

Getting the radio activated on the system would be no problem. I like the XTS more than the P5400 Harris radios.

Perhaps this should be in the Harris forum?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 7:07 PM
KC2OBW's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wappingers Falls
Posts: 1,528
Default

I don't see why it wouldn't
__________________
PRO-197, XTS3000, Astro Saber HT1250, MT2000, HT1000, FT60R, VX8GR, UVD-1P(2/1.25), TM741, FT8800R, DR235T.
WQOK964
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 7:18 PM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,825
Default

My understanding of it is as long as you have the right flash in the radio (for 9600 P25 trunking) and it's on the right band, you should be able to make an M radio hook up with any P25 system.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 4:43 AM
MTS2000des's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cobb County, GA PCT 3 Crime Central
Posts: 2,086
Default

in Astro 25 CPS, uncheck the "enable Astro 25 proprietary features" box. As others said, radio must be flashed for 9600 baud trunking for it to work on any 9600 baud system.
__________________
All opinions, statements, posts, or information made public are those exclusively of the author, and not those of his employer, contractors or associates.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 8:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 523
Default

So it must have this

Code:
	
Q361 ASTRO 25 9600 Baud Trunking
in the flashcode somewhere.


Where can you get these customized to your liking? A local(expensive) moto dealer?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 10:50 AM
KC2OBW's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wappingers Falls
Posts: 1,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCFire11 View Post
So it must have this

Code:
	
Q361 ASTRO 25 9600 Baud Trunking
in the flashcode somewhere.


Where can you get these customized to your liking? A local(expensive) moto dealer?
Yup, or unless you know some one who has the capabilities.
__________________
PRO-197, XTS3000, Astro Saber HT1250, MT2000, HT1000, FT60R, VX8GR, UVD-1P(2/1.25), TM741, FT8800R, DR235T.
WQOK964
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 11:09 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC2OBW View Post
Yup, or unless you know some one who has the capabilities.
Of course I don't. The only people around here that I know do it charge $900 for a brand new in box Ht750 programmed...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 4:58 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 523
Default

Found this on eBay,

Motorola XTS2500 VHF 136-174 Astro P25 Trunking Radio | eBay


Model : H46KDH9PW7AN
HOST : R 09.xx.xx
DSP : R 14.xx.xx
FlashCode :
581018-10168C-9
Code:
Q806/G806	IMBE / APCO-25 Digital Operation
H14/G114	Digital ID Display
H868/W298	Conventional Multikey and Analog Conventional MDC OTAR
G170/H43	Remote Monitor and Radio Trace
Future System Package
H38/G51	Smartzone Operation
Q181	Add StatAlert (MDC1200) Features
W947/Q947	APCO Packet Data
Q387	Conventional voting scan
Q173/G173	Smartzone OmniLink Operation
Q361/G361	Digital APCO-25 IMBE Trunking (9600kb Control)
1B3	Future System Enhancement
1B4	Future System Enhancement


I know this is one of those "No tag" radios, so I dont need a sermon on the obvious negative points about the radio.

I have a cable and the CPS (i think) to program these anyway. All i would need is the Impres charger and battery, and an antenna.

The flash code looks good, and has what I would need for this system. I just cant beat this price, and I would have the Harris radio as backup if needed.

Any opinions?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 5:44 PM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,825
Default

The right CPS for this radio is Astro25.

You'll need a system key (I think - I haven't done any programming of radios onto a true P25 system, I would imagine so) and thus the express permission of the system operator(s).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 6:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay911 View Post
The right CPS for this radio is Astro25.

You'll need a system key (I think - I haven't done any programming of radios onto a true P25 system, I would imagine so) and thus the express permission of the system operator(s).
I have Astro 25 Portable CPS R14 i beleive.

And the system key is no problem, especially since its only county wide
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 7:17 PM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,825
Default

The system key is a piece of software (or sometimes a piece of hardware you plug into the PC while you are programming) that is generally very restricted in nature. Only the operators/managers of a system should have access to the system key.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-16-2011, 5:37 AM
grem467's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,052
Default

An issue you might run into is if the system programmers do not have a Motorola compatable system key. If they do not already have motorolas on the network, there is a good chance they will be unable to program it. They will have to order a key from Motorola prior to programming your radio.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2013, 6:32 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Default

NCFire11,

Did you ever get your radio working on a Harris system. Our county is going P25 trunked on a Harris P25 system. Myself along with the sys admin and Harris techs have had a terrible time trying to get my Moto radios working on the Harris system. We've got as far as affiliating with the system but having problems with the radio switching to the working channel once assigned by the controller.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions