RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2012, 9:02 PM
alphanovember's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alderney (Liberty City)
Posts: 49
Default Got a used CP200, how to program it?

So I recently acquired a secondhand CP200 (I think it's the non-XLS version) with an extra battery very cheaply. Only problem is that I have no idea how to program this handheld two-way so that I can used it as a scanner. I can get the programming cable, but it's the software that I'm not sure about. What software do I use, and can I even use this radio like a scanner? I'm guessing it doesn't support trunking, though since they look exactly the same I'm not sure if it's the XLS model, which does.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2012, 9:08 PM
KD2BMU's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hammond, NY
Posts: 80
Default

I have a CP200 4 ch and CP200XLS 128 ch. If you can attach a picture of the radio you have I can help you. Yes they can be used as scanners.
__________________
Dave-KD2BMU
NYS EMT-B
Yaesu FT-2400H & VX-6R, Motorola CP200 & CP200XLS

Last edited by KD2BMU; 05-11-2012 at 9:12 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2012, 9:31 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,391
Default

The software package needed to program the CP200 is Motorola RVN4191. It can only be purchased from Motorola via the Motorola On Line system. You need to set up an account with them before you can purchase anything.

Oh yeah, the price is $199.00. I strongly urge that you read the "sticky" above regarding obtaining programming software.

Are you looking for free programming software?
__________________
Please DO NOT email or PM me with general technical questions. They should be posted on the forum.
Let everyone have the chance to respond and to see each others' answers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2012, 9:40 PM
alphanovember's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alderney (Liberty City)
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KD2BMU View Post
I have a CP200 4 ch and CP200XLS 128 ch. If you can attach a picture of the radio you have I can help you. Yes they can be used as scanners.
The radio is the same one that is picture on the linked CP200 Motorola site (though for some reason the interior of the battery is painted yellow, and I can't figure out how to remove the battery). How hard was it to program it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveC0625 View Post
The software package needed to program the CP200 is Motorola RVN4191. It can only be purchased from Motorola via the Motorola On Line system. You need to set up an account with them before you can purchase anything.

Oh yeah, the price is $199.00. I strongly urge that you read the "sticky" above regarding obtaining programming software.

Are you looking for free programming software?
Hopefully they are willing to sell it to me. Is it easy to use? Do I have to scour the net for tutorials on it or is it pretty straight-forward?

Also, is this absolutely the only software package that allows programming, or are there outdated version/different ones that I can maybe buy at a cheaper price? The stickied thread says that RSS also works, but it also says that it's harder to buy that? I've read about something called CPS on the Motorola site, will this work as well?

Last edited by alphanovember; 05-11-2012 at 9:49 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2012, 10:34 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphanovember View Post
Hopefully they are willing to sell it to me. Is it easy to use? Do I have to scour the net for tutorials on it or is it pretty straight-forward?

Also, is this absolutely the only software package that allows programming, or are there outdated version/different ones that I can maybe buy at a cheaper price? The stickied thread says that RSS also works, but it also says that it's harder to buy that? I've read about something called CPS on the Motorola site, will this work as well?
RSS is Radio Service Software and is mostly for older radios and it runs mostly under DOS. CPS is Customer Programming Software and runs on Windows platforms. RVN4191 is CPS.

As has been said here many times, you can not program a Motorola radio with an older version of the CPS than it was last programmed with.

Motorola frowns on sales of their software by anyone other than themselves. They have been known to aggressively pursue and prosecute offenders.

There is no other program except RVN4191 that will program the CP200.

As far as "easy to use", let me just say that there are a lot of people programming radios these days. Many of them should not be doing it.
__________________
Please DO NOT email or PM me with general technical questions. They should be posted on the forum.
Let everyone have the chance to respond and to see each others' answers.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2012, 1:34 AM
alphanovember's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alderney (Liberty City)
Posts: 49
Default

A question about the cable, will any 2.5mm to USB do? I doesn't seem like there's any special about the ones that say CP200 compared to the generic ones.

Last edited by alphanovember; 05-18-2012 at 1:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2012, 5:43 AM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphanovember View Post
A question about the cable, will any 2.5mm to USB do? I doesn't seem like there's any special about the ones that say CP200 compared to the generic ones.
You need a cable that is built for the CP200 family of radios. While others may look identical, they may not be wired the same or use the same voltages, etc.

Look, do yourself a favor, stop looking for shortcuts that do not exist, and just do this right. Buy the current version of the software from Motorola (comes with a subscription for 3 years worth of updates), and the get correct cable for the radio. Kawamall sells a cable for $20.47 that works just fine USB Programming cable for Motorola GP2000 P040 CP200 | eBay - I have two of them; one in my personal tool kit and one in the shop on the bench.
__________________
Please DO NOT email or PM me with general technical questions. They should be posted on the forum.
Let everyone have the chance to respond and to see each others' answers.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2012, 8:56 AM
KD2BMU's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hammond, NY
Posts: 80
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveC0625 View Post
You need a cable that is built for the CP200 family of radios. While others may look identical, they may not be wired the same or use the same voltages, etc.

Look, do yourself a favor, stop looking for shortcuts that do not exist, and just do this right. Buy the current version of the software from Motorola (comes with a subscription for 3 years worth of updates), and the get correct cable for the radio. Kawamall sells a cable for $20.47 that works just fine USB Programming cable for Motorola GP2000 P040 CP200 | eBay - I have two of them; one in my personal tool kit and one in the shop on the bench.
I agree with this post. I bought one from Kawamall and it works great.
__________________
Dave-KD2BMU
NYS EMT-B
Yaesu FT-2400H & VX-6R, Motorola CP200 & CP200XLS
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2013, 11:25 AM
Metrofire31's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 730
Default

Ditto, AlphaNovember!

The radio is fairly easy to program and once programmed, you will really enjoy the quality. I did as has been suggested - I purchased a subscription for the software at Motorola Online. It's easy to get an account and even easier to but the CPS. I believe the number is correct in that it was around $200. But that is a 3-year subscription and every update during that time will be automatically sent to you.

Metrofire31
Atlanta
WQIT636
__________________
Metrofire31
WQIT636 - Atlanta
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2013, 11:49 AM
alphanovember's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Alderney (Liberty City)
Posts: 49
Default

Update: I was successful. Got the software and the cable I mentioned, worked great.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:20 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 19
Default

where/who do i need to contact directly to get the software at Motorola?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2013, 10:11 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 717
Default

Go here: businessonline.motorolasolutions.com, create an account, then call 800) 814-0601 ans request the ablity to order software and products.

They will walk you thru how to 'sign' the agreements to allow you to order.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:05 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 19
Default

do you have to have a programming Cable that has RIB or is RIB-less?

Thanks!

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------CP200XLS, Motorola Minitor IV, Jingtong-199, Radio Shack PRO 2055, Radio Shack PRO-197
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:08 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 930
Default

The CP200 uses a RIB but there are so-called RIB-less cables which despite the name, actually have RIB electronics built into them.
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:12 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 19
Default

So, Will it matter which one Buy?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:16 PM
gtaman's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 441
Default

Valley enterprises sells a cable for I think 15$ I bought one it works really well I would highly recommend it

Here's the link

Radio Programming Cable USB for Motorola GP88S GP2000:Amazon:Computers & Accessories


It's actually 13 dollars I think shipping is around or 5 or maybe free.
__________________
Proud owner of a HARRIS FALCON III AN PRC-152 Multiband Radio.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:17 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 930
Default

If you already have a RIB, you can make your own for a lot cheaper than buying one. Otherwise, the few RIB-less ones I've seen work OK. Still best to use OEM when possible (except for the price!).
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:17 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 19
Default

Ok, Thanks!
__________________
They tell me my Sister was born Lucky;But I was Lucky To be Born!

CP200XLS, Motorola Minitor IV, Jingtong-199, Radio Shack PRO 2055, Radio Shack PRO-197
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:18 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SFD790 View Post
So, Will it matter which one Buy?
If you use it correctly, it is unlikely that you will ever notice a difference.

Several posts back, I posted a link to an Ebay listing for the KawaMall cable for the Commercial Series portables. Many folks have used them without problems.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 03-20-2013, 6:19 PM
gtaman's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 441
Default

The one I posted is very good. My works extremely well.
__________________
Proud owner of a HARRIS FALCON III AN PRC-152 Multiband Radio.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions