RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2012, 12:42 PM
centuryvrproductions's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: milford
Posts: 208
Post Tuning a Maxtrac... and Power output issue?

Where can i find out how to Align one of these radios? I recently swaped a Logic board in my 25W UHF Maxtrac from a 40 watt UHF. I attempted to align it by testing the VCO voltage and entering the reference crystal data... As i am very familiar with RSS, I have never experienced the alignment process

The power output on my meter shows up as less than one watt now. Im sure it needs an alignment but...
No mater what i do to the TX power adjustment, it stays same also

Any suggestions
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2012, 7:03 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 986
Default

Do you have a calibrated service monitor? You won't get far tuning/aligning a radio without one.
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:00 PM
centuryvrproductions's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: milford
Posts: 208
Default

I dont have a service monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:07 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by centuryvrproductions View Post
I dont have a service monitor.
Without test equipment, what is your expectation on properly aligning your radio? Alignment requires measurements, and then adjustments. Without the ability to measure, you cannot adjust properly.

But in answewr to your original question, you can try getting a manual on eBay or direct from Motorola. There is also information on Repeater Builder, and on Batlabs. Are you familiar with those two web sites?

Why did you swap a logic board from a 40 watt radio into a 25 watt radio? It's not going to turn the 25 watt radio into a 40 watt radio. You'd have to change out the PA assembly for that to work.
__________________
Even the most ambitious little pebble will never grow up to be a big rock.

Last edited by zz0468; 11-26-2012 at 11:10 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2012, 1:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 778
Default

Also, any time you change out any boards, this is a major under taking and as has been stated, with out the proper service equipment and bench knowledge, you have just toasted a radio.

At this point, the only thing you can do is, A) Throw it away, B) Take it to a dealer and have them bring the radio back to life.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2012, 6:53 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletech View Post
B) Take it to a dealer and have them bring the radio back to life.
That's if they're willing to touch them at all (they might). I know we won't unless you're a preexisting customer with a large fleet, and then, only 800 MHz MaxTracs. There might be some other hams close to you who might have plenty of spare parts and the know-how.
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2012, 9:12 PM
centuryvrproductions's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: milford
Posts: 208
Post

I took a 16pin board out of a 40 watt for my 25. and swaped with a friend who has the 40. I wanted the signaling and extra channels.

I figured i needed test equiptment... Thats why I asked, I was unsure of how alignment was to be done.

I will look around for a service book or somthing,
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-27-2012, 9:35 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by centuryvrproductions View Post
I took a 16pin board out of a 40 watt for my 25. and swaped with a friend who has the 40. I wanted the signaling and extra channels.
You would have been better off just swapping radios.
__________________
Even the most ambitious little pebble will never grow up to be a big rock.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2012, 4:56 PM
centuryvrproductions's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: milford
Posts: 208
Red face

My friend really wanted the 40W and i didnt mind having 25. and of course i thought it would be easy to align it again.

But I never wiped the tuning data from the Logic boards. Just Blanked them and Reprogrammed them each to match the RF Board.

Question:

If I were to re swap boards and program them back to the way it was... Would that solve my problems?

but

I found the procidure for alignment. I am Searching around for a service monitor. I would like to try it

Last edited by centuryvrproductions; 11-28-2012 at 5:06 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2012, 9:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 4,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by centuryvrproductions View Post
...I found the procidure for alignment. I am Searching around for a service monitor. I would like to try it
That's the response I was hoping to see!
__________________
Even the most ambitious little pebble will never grow up to be a big rock.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions