RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 3:32 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default Motorola Spectra Repeater use issue

Okay ,I have to be having a serious brain f*rt here but I'm having issues getting my spectras to operate in duplex or repeater use.I am familiar with the RSS,programming,tones and etc.I'm even having the same issue with one of my vhf Astro Spectras that use CPS.And with the same results on all radios I'm convinced its operator error here lol.Problem I'm having is radios will not key up repeater until ptt is released and opens repeater for a second.Tried on multiple repeaters that require tones and csq with same result.If I put radio in "direct" or "talkalround" mode radio transmits beautifully,I guess I should also note that I have no problem listening to the repeater (when others are talking).
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 4:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,914
Default

are you using MDC? If so move the MDC to Prekey
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 4:20 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 258
Default

How do you know? Do you have someone that can listen a good distance away so as to not be desensed? You won't hear anything locally until you unkey and then you will hear the hang. If you have a local radio it may not hear anything until you unkey due to desense.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 4:54 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

no on the MDC (disabled on all) as far as me knowing its not working,I take one of my working handhelds set it across the room on same repeater,I call out my callsign and testing on the spectra with no audio/reception on the handheld and no repeater activity ie identifier or tail beep until I unkey the spectra then I hear the repeater activity on both but does not open up the repeater until I release ptt.Very strange
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 5:19 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 656
Default

Simple, the Spectra transmitter is wiping out the poor little RF frontend in the Scanner.

"wiping out" I should have said destroying.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 5:25 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

so why can't anybody hear me when I try to join conversations? and why do I hear my self very clearly on the handheld in simplex? My antenna for the spectra is located up on the roof (and not in my living room)I do realize some rf leaks from the radio itself,but I don't think the handheld is being wiped at all,considering I can talk to it very clearly and others (other people) in simplex at the same power level
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 5:59 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 258
Default

Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1212030829) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Put your other radio on the repeater input and listen.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 6:29 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,756
Default

Are you using a duplexer between the 2 radios and the antenna your trying to use? You didn't mention if you even had a duplexer in the repeater system.

What power level is the 2 radios your trying to use in the repeater system?

Most repeater systems are set up with one radio used as a receiver and the other radio used as the repeater transmitter. You need to make sure the transmitter doesn't desense the receiver. It takes between 70 and 100 db of isolation between the 2 radios to make a repeater play correctly.

Make sure your using double shielded coax for all cables. The use of a small supper flex "Heliax" type coax works wonders. DO NOT USE SINGLE SHIELDED COAX CABLE FOR ANY OF THE JUMPERS in your system. I would also stay away from using any LMR type coax any place in your repeater system. This includes the coax going to the antenna. This stuff will generate all sorts of noise problems given enough time and moisture.

If you provide some more details on your repeater system, then you might get some help on here.

Jim
__________________
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 6:31 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

yeah I hear good transmission and audio from my spectra on the input frequency via the handheld,this is bizarre! thought maybe it was a repeater issue so I tried on 3 different repeaters in reach of me (one of which does not need any tones).Walkie raises repeater just fine.This is really scrambling my marbles now that I've verified carrier and audio while transmitting on the input freq with the spectra!There has to be something being transmitted within the carrier on the input that the repeaters don't like.I have all signaling disabled,gonna have to look at these codeplugs again there must be something I'm missing
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 6:33 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

to jim202,I don't have a repeater system,I'm having trouble accessing repeaters with my motorola spectra mobile units
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 6:57 PM
KG4INW's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 952
Default

Is this a new problem or something that's just started? Perhaps you changed something inadvertently in the RSS?
__________________
How many radios can one man own? Don't ask stupid questions.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 7:16 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

well I don't get on the air to much and mainly use my radios as scanners for business and hobby.I don't care to much for scanners and as widely/cheaply available alot of these old commercial radios are and the excelent receive/sensitivity of them,thats my primary use.I recently decided to load them up with local repeater freq for times that I do want to get on the air.When I initially programmed them I only tested by calling out my call sign with no response required,when I heard the repeater either beep back or identify itself after I unkeyed,I thought I was good.I only found out last night (weeks later) when I tried to talk to people on the repeater that nothing was getting through.So they apparently have never worked,I just find it really strange that it opens the repeater for a second on unkey
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 8:49 PM
ramal121's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrwill View Post
Simple, the Spectra transmitter is wiping out the poor little RF frontend in the Scanner.

"wiping out" I should have said destroying.
Again, the strong transmit levels from your Spectra are preventing you from receiving a weaker signal back from the repeater. Move the handheld further from the antenna, like next door or down the block.

Simplex works fine cuz tx and rx are on the same freq.
VIA TAPATALK
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 9:16 PM
KevinC's Avatar
Moderator
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Houston,Texas
Posts: 1,238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramal121 View Post
Again, the strong transmit levels from your Spectra are preventing you from receiving a weaker signal back from the repeater. Move the handheld further from the antenna, like next door or down the block.

Simplex works fine cuz tx and rx are on the same freq.
VIA TAPATALK
+1also.
__________________
BC-210XLT

"Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-25-2012, 10:49 PM
fullpwr5675's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Saint Louis,MO
Posts: 75
Default

I understand what your saying now,once you put it in perspective,I must be having an even bigger brain f*rt than originally thought.I guess I need to rephrase "I don't care for scanners" to I don't care for the way scanners are built today.They do not last long in our trucks between the harsh enviremont and heavy use,they don't last long for us.Nothing against them (you can see I have a few)
__________________
Uni BC780XLT,RS Pro107,Uni BCT15X,RS PRO528,RS PRO2067,RS PRO2020,Uni BC 560XLT,Uni 800XLT,RCI 2970,RS Pro94,Uni SC150,Motorola Spectras,Astro (P25)Spectras,Sabers and Syntors X9000,Baofeng UV-5R
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions