RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 4:34 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default CDM1250 Scan problem

I have a CDM1250 that I can't seem to get the scan to stop when you pull the mic off the hook. I have the suspend all scan checked in the scan options, but it still scans even if you unhook the mic from the radio. I have 3 scan lists and it does this on any of them. I do not have auto scan checked on any personality. I also can't get the nuisance delete to delete a channel. When you press it during scanning, it just gives the error "bonk." Anyone have any suggestions?
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 7:11 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Try a different microphone. If the radio cannot tell the microphone is off-hook it won't stop scanning.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 7:17 AM
druhe's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southwest Pa
Posts: 298
Default Try this

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefive76 View Post
I have a CDM1250 that I can't seem to get the scan to stop when you pull the mic off the hook. I have the suspend all scan checked in the scan options, but it still scans even if you unhook the mic from the radio. I have 3 scan lists and it does this on any of them. I do not have auto scan checked on any personality. I also can't get the nuisance delete to delete a channel. When you press it during scanning, it just gives the error "bonk." Anyone have any suggestions?
Try these in your CPS:

Radio Configuration>Scan>Hook (HUB) Suspends Scan: SUSPEND ALL SCAN

Scan list> under options check the NUISANCE DELETE box
__________________
--Dan-- KE3UC
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 8:38 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by druhe View Post
Try these in your CPS:

Radio Configuration>Scan>Hook (HUB) Suspends Scan: SUSPEND ALL SCAN

Scan list> under options check the NUISANCE DELETE box
I figured out the nuisance delete (I had it checked but was trying to delete the priority channel, which I know I can't do) but I still can't get the scan to stop without manually shutting it off. I have the "suspend all scan" checked in the radio configuration.
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 9:53 AM
woodmedic's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 17
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.1; en-us; SGH-T999 Build/JRO03L) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Try unhooking the mic from the radio and see if it stops. I bet the little switches that are depressed when you put the mic into its hanger are stuck closed.
__________________
Pro 106----996xt----cdm1250------ht1250-----m1225
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:34 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodmedic View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.1; en-us; SGH-T999 Build/JRO03L) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Try unhooking the mic from the radio and see if it stops. I bet the little switches that are depressed when you put the mic into its hanger are stuck closed.
In my original post, I put that I've tried unhooking the mic, it makes no difference.
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25

Last edited by firefive76; 02-21-2013 at 11:02 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:50 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 236
Default

Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1301080958) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Try unplugging the Mic. If this stops it, your Mic has a defect in the sensing circuit.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 10:51 AM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA51
Posts: 2,222
Default

Is this a radio that you have purchased used, is it new, or is it one that you have owned for a while that suddenly stopped working?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 11:00 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Unplugging the mic makes no difference! This is a radio that I bought used but was rarely used. It's like new.
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 12:40 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 236
Default

Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1301080958) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Does it go into monitor mode with the Mic unhooked or unplugged? If you have it programmed this way I mean. You might try writing the code plug again. A slightly corrupted plug can cause some odd problems I've heard.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2013, 2:08 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefive76 View Post
Unplugging the mic makes no difference! This is a radio that I bought used but was rarely used. It's like new.
PM Sent.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2013, 2:29 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlamanske View Post
Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1301080958) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Does it go into monitor mode with the Mic unhooked or unplugged? If you have it programmed this way I mean. You might try writing the code plug again. A slightly corrupted plug can cause some odd problems I've heard.
I've tried re-writing the codeplug a few times, didn't help. Also, when you unhook the mic, it doesn't do anything different, keeps scanning and doesn't open monitor. When you take the mic off the hook, it doesn't open monitor either.
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2013, 4:06 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefive76 View Post
I've tried re-writing the codeplug a few times, didn't help. Also, when you unhook the mic, it doesn't do anything different, keeps scanning and doesn't open monitor. When you take the mic off the hook, it doesn't open monitor either.
Well there IS your problem. Look in the programming for OFF HOOK disable, SCAN OFF HOOK, or PL/DPL off hook. ( I do not know the software for your radio)

Something is keeping the MIC hung up, and even with the mic unplugged, in the radio it self.
The DEFAULT setting would be having the Monitor enabled with the Mic off hook, a FCC requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2013, 7:51 PM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrwill View Post
Well there IS your problem. Look in the programming for OFF HOOK disable, SCAN OFF HOOK, or PL/DPL off hook. ( I do not know the software for your radio)

Something is keeping the MIC hung up, and even with the mic unplugged, in the radio it self.
The DEFAULT setting would be having the Monitor enabled with the Mic off hook, a FCC requirement.
I have a copy of his current codeplug here now.

Hook (HUB) defeats PL is already properly checked.
Hook (HUB) Suspends Scan is already set to Suspend All Scan.

His Scan Lists look good. All conventional personalities are properly assigned to a scan list. There is nothing unusual that I can see anywhere in the code plug.

I did ask the OP to verify a couple of things in regard to the mic and hang up. In particular, I reminded him that the hang-up clip has to be metal just in case he's using a plastic one. He's also going to let me know what type of mic he's using to just make sure there is not unusual Hook switching involved.

Any other thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2013, 8:00 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 236
Default

Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1301080958) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Could it be a remote mount with 2 heads? I'm lost. Maybe it was a remote mount at one time and now something isn't hooked up inside the head. Short in the plug on the head?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2013, 11:53 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA51
Posts: 2,222
Default

Not sure if it applies to the CDM's, but I know on some of the Motorola radios there was a modification that would let them scan without a mic connected. I think you installed a jumper, or maybe it was remove a resistor, in the head to make it do that. Probably would be a good idea to disassemble the head and take a good close look at it to see if anything is out of place.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2013, 1:13 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlamanske View Post
Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Android 4.0.4; Linux; Opera Mobi/ADR-1301080958) Presto/2.11.355 Version/12.10)

Could it be a remote mount with 2 heads? I'm lost. Maybe it was a remote mount at one time and now something isn't hooked up inside the head. Short in the plug on the head?
Mic is a Motorola ARM4025C and the hang up clip is a factory metal Motorola, or what they send with them anyway.

I don't know if it was used with a remote head at one time or not. I'm starting to think it's something internal rather than the codeplug. I'm not new to programming and this one just boggles my mind.
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2013, 1:15 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
Not sure if it applies to the CDM's, but I know on some of the Motorola radios there was a modification that would let them scan without a mic connected. I think you installed a jumper, or maybe it was remove a resistor, in the head to make it do that. Probably would be a good idea to disassemble the head and take a good close look at it to see if anything is out of place.
I'll try that. I've never removed the head on one nor do I have the tool. Is there something I can use or do I need the specific tool?
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2013, 2:22 AM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA51
Posts: 2,222
Default

Motorola has a specific tool for removing the heads, but it's just a plastic prying tool. You can do the same thing with a wide blade screwdriver if you are careful. There is the head and there is a plastic mating piece that adapts the head to the radio. Just be careful of the flat ribbon cable that connects the head to the radio. There is some slack, but not a bunch. You can -carefully- unplug the radio end, just make sure you reinstall it the correct way. There is often a black or blue dot on the ribbon cable on one side, and a matching ""0" on the radio body to help with orientation.
Unplugging it from the head side is a bit different. There is a special connector the ribbon cable slides in to. To release it there is a brown side and and a white side on the connector on the head. The brown bit lifts up a little ways and allows the ribbon cable to slide out. When you reinstall it, you insert the cable and push the brown tab back down. The same orientation rules as above apply.

Reassembling is just pushing everything back together. Be careful about not pinching the ribbon cable in the process.

It's actually a pretty easy task to disassemble.

When you get it apart, take a look at the back of the mic connector for a jumper or something like that. Not sure it's the cause of your issue, but it could be.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2013, 5:44 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 310
Default

Correction on mic model number--AARMN4025C
__________________
XPR6550 UHF / HT1250 UHF / CDM1550 UHF / CDM1250 VHF / Minitor V UHF / Advisor II VHF / XTS2500 800 P25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions