RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 5:26 PM
KX4KDH's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 460
Default GM-300 Project....

I am using a Motorola GM-300 as a link radio. As you know, these can get quite hot, so I came up with a way to get some air across this thing..... However, I have hit a snag. I need to somehow extend the cables from the control head, to the radio. Short of using a bunch of butt splice connectors, or soldering a pile of wires, does anyone know of a way to extend these cables? No matter what, it looks like this is going to be very time consuming....
Attached Images
 
__________________
KX4KDH Amateur
WQMY936 GMRS
Echolink Node #565565
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 5:34 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 22
Default

GM300 remote mount kit HLN8144 might be the cleanest way.

It uses a flat ribbon cable about 25' long. It looks like it would coil up and fit in there nicely.

73
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 6:14 PM
KX4KDH's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 460
Default

Yeah.. I was looking at an 8' version of the kit. I'm afraid it's going to be hard to find.....
__________________
KX4KDH Amateur
WQMY936 GMRS
Echolink Node #565565
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 6:16 PM
KX4KDH's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 460
Default

The other alternative is to find a face that fits the DeskTrac case that will work with the GM-300.
__________________
KX4KDH Amateur
WQMY936 GMRS
Echolink Node #565565
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 6:25 PM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 372
Default GM-300 Project....

Is the control head on the GM300 not the same size as the Maxtrac and Spectra?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2013, 6:32 PM
KX4KDH's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 460
Default

Same as the MaxTrac.... Not sure about the spectra.
__________________
KX4KDH Amateur
WQMY936 GMRS
Echolink Node #565565
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2013, 6:49 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: West Monroe, NY
Posts: 100
Default

Find the cable kit for the GR1225 remote head kit. Its about 6" long and works perfect in an old desk track case. Have 2 setup this way.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2013, 9:37 AM
KX4KDH's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kill Devil Hills, NC
Posts: 460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb2ztx View Post
Find the cable kit for the GR1225 remote head kit. Its about 6" long and works perfect in an old desk track case. Have 2 setup this way.
Ha! Sure enough!! Thanks! It all works now.
__________________
KX4KDH Amateur
WQMY936 GMRS
Echolink Node #565565
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2013, 10:14 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis IN
Posts: 121
Default

Those radios are made for 30% duty cycle on transmit. You need to put a big heat sink and a fan on the power amplifier. Also, the tx power settings only affects the base, not the collector and emitter. So putting it on low power does little to alter the heat problem. So, GM300s need to be tweaked to be 100% duty, or else you will end up with a door stop. I've got four of them in repeater operation on 70cm ham radio.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2013, 12:53 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 582
Default

If you look in the left side of the photo of the Desktrac you will see the extension cable made from flat Spectrastrip.

You will need some male connectors to complete the cable for the GM300 to the control head. These connections are straight thru.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions