RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 2:13 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 20
Default Quik Call II Tone assessment question.

CPS under the HT1250 gives you the option of:

A-B
A-B/A-C
A-B/C-B
A-B/A-D/C-D
A-B/C-D


My tones are:

850 715

Another is:

1984.6 671.7 (Slightly off due to coding option but they still alert the pager)


Is my tones option?:

A-B

Last edited by MFDHoward; 01-22-2014 at 2:22 AM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 3:39 AM
58006's Avatar
DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MFDHoward View Post
CPS under the HT1250 gives you the option of:

A-B
A-B/A-C
A-B/C-B
A-B/A-D/C-D
A-B/C-D


My tones are:

850 715

Another is:

1984.6 671.7 (Slightly off due to coding option but they still alert the pager)


Is my tones option?:

A-B
If you are putting all four tones in under the same personality, you would use A-B/C-D because you do not share a common tone.

If you are using the tones on different personalities, then you would use A-B and make two different QC-II Systems.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 7:56 AM
WX5JCH's Avatar
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elk City, Oklahoma
Posts: 936
Default Quik Call II Tone assessment question.

What do you enter for a real long A tone only?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 10:28 AM
SteveC0625's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northville, NY (Fulton County)
Posts: 1,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WX5JCH View Post
What do you enter for a real long A tone only?
Is this all on one personality? I don't see an option that allows A-B/C-D/Long E in one line.

Is the single tone the same as one of the tones in the A-B or C-D pairs?

Unfortunately, the Pro Series doesn't have the 8 different tone pairs and 4 different long tones capability seen in the Minitor V so there may be some combinations that you won't be able to do on the HT1250.
__________________
Please DO NOT email or PM me with general technical questions. They should be posted on the forum.
Let everyone have the chance to respond and to see each others' answers.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 12:29 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 67
Default

I've never understood this myself----why do certain companies (namely Motorola and Kenwood) still limit tone choices in a modern radio to A-B/A-C, etc.? I could understand years ago when actual tone reeds were in use for Minitor 2's, etc., but I see no reason to today. I had an Icom F43 that let you have 8 completely individual tone sets and it was one of the few I could actually accomplish putting in all that I needed to.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveC0625 View Post
Is this all on one personality? I don't see an option that allows A-B/C-D/Long E in one line.

Is the single tone the same as one of the tones in the A-B or C-D pairs?

Unfortunately, the Pro Series doesn't have the 8 different tone pairs and 4 different long tones capability seen in the Minitor V so there may be some combinations that you won't be able to do on the HT1250.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 4:34 PM
58006's Avatar
DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 188
Default Quik Call II Tone assessment question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WX5JCH View Post
What do you enter for a real long A tone only?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You would use the A-B format and put the same tone in A & B
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 4:35 PM
58006's Avatar
DB Admin
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 188
Default Quik Call II Tone assessment question.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffemt134 View Post
I've never understood this myself----why do certain companies (namely Motorola and Kenwood) still limit tone choices in a modern radio to A-B/A-C, etc.? I could understand years ago when actual tone reeds were in use for Minitor 2's, etc., but I see no reason to today. I had an Icom F43 that let you have 8 completely individual tone sets and it was one of the few I could actually accomplish putting in all that I needed to.

Because it is Motorola and it has to be difficult!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:26 PM
ramal121's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 1,132
Default

The timing sequence of 1 second and 3 seconds was established for the mechanical tone reeds to give them time to lock on and then be long enough to prevent falsing. Modern tone decoders can pick out a tone in a couple of cycles (we're talking milliseconds).

With the computing power of the latest radios, they should be able to respond to any tone code sent to them. The only limiting factor is programming space (highly unlikely now-a-days) or just plain marketing stink.

The HT/CDMs do what they do and that's all she wrote.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:32 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 773
Default

Motorola wants you to buy a Minitor, so your options in their radios for tone decoding are limited.

Icom doesn't make a tone pager that I know of, so they aren't worried about losing money on another product, so they'll make their radios able to do more with tone decoding.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions