RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2014, 7:59 PM
Not Posting
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 62
Question looking for someone in NC to proram DMR radio?

Is there anyone here from NC that can program a Motorola XPR-7550 DMR radio?

if i go with the XPR 7550
I have a motorola account but I wont have enough money to buy the CPS for a while.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 4:31 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 953
Default

Why not contact the owner of the repeater you want to use? Ask for permission to use his repeater, & see if he will program your radio for you. That's how it's done here, where most of the users are not equipped to program these radios, The repeater owner is only too happy to help out a fellow ham.
__________________
GARY N4KVE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 6:32 PM
Not Posting
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 62
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOONBOOTS View Post
Why not contact the owner of the repeater you want to use? Ask for permission to use his repeater, & see if he will program your radio for you. That's how it's done here, where most of the users are not equipped to program these radios, The repeater owner is only too happy to help out a fellow ham.
it is a little diffrent here most of all the repeaters are open to the hams you don't have to ask permission. That being said it is a great idea and I will try that, meeting another ham in my area is just fine with me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 6:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 953
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kk4mei View Post
it is a little diffrent here most of all the repeaters are open to the hams you don't have to ask permission.
The ham repeaters here are also open to anyone with a ticket. But the DMR systems are only opened to people the owner knows. He has to enter a user's DMR-MARC number into the repeater so it can be accessed. Easier to keep track of whose on the network. [7 linked DMR repeaters throughout Florida].
__________________
GARY N4KVE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 7:06 PM
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,358
Default

Gary,

Not sure what you're talking about... but DMR doesn't require any back-end permissions for site access here in NC. You need to register with DMR-MARC and get a unique radio ID, but you don't have to request permission to use the system or turn on the ID on in any controller.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 7:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 953
Default

The owner of the system has spent thousands to link up a good part of the state. He only wants people on that he knows. With the Hytera repeaters set up the way they are, if your ID # is not entered into the system, it can't be accessed. If you're a tourist escaping the snow & looking to spend 10 days in the heat, just call him ahead of time, & he'll enter your # into the system for the duration of the trip.
__________________
GARY N4KVE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 7:33 PM
Not Posting
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 62
Default

moonboots is DMR access in daytona beach area?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 7:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Posts: 953
Default

http://www.ac4xq.net/index-dmr.htm
Not on his system. He is in Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Palm Beach, Boca, Ft. Myers, Melbourne, & Orlando. TS1 is local, TS2 is linked up.
__________________
GARY N4KVE

Last edited by MOONBOOTS; 03-04-2014 at 7:47 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 11:24 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wake Co. NC
Posts: 186
Default

Getting Started

There are a few 7550 users on the NCPRN system in the URL above.

Try contacting Danny Hampton, K4ITL for more information.

His contact info can be found here:

The SouthEastern Repeater Association, Inc. :: SERA Districts

You'll also want to subscribe for a user ID here before accessing the DMR network. It only takes a couple days at the most to get
a reply with an ID.

http://dmr-marc.net/request_subscriberID.html

Last edited by Chris-KH2PM; 03-04-2014 at 11:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2014, 12:52 PM
Not Posting
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 62
Default

Trumpetman has kindly offered to build a code plug for me for my ne radio Motorola XPR 7550. "THANKS AGIAN"

If there is anyone with in 100 miles of Mebane NC that could install the code-plug into my radio please let me know I could pay if needed.

I will have the radio on monday.
call me at 919-249-2449
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions