RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial and Professional Radio > Motorola Forum

Motorola Forum For general discussion of Motorola land mobile radio equipment and their trunking technologies.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 5:48 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont NE
Posts: 1,047
Default JT1000 noise

Hey guys. . I tried asking this on another forum, and while i received some good info, my question still remains unanswered. Ive got a UHF (R) JT1000 that when transmitting, makes a static noise. I own 2 of these identical radios, and have swapped out every part possible to figure out where the problem is, and have determined it is in the RF board. So my question is, is this something that can be repaired by someone with the proper tools/equipment, (obviously not motorola anymore) or is my radio pretty much done?

Here is an audio clip comparing my good radio to this radio with the problem

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pdn2gF0hChM
__________________
Uniden BCD396XT, BCD396T, BC125AT, BC700A, Radio Shack Pro-83, Motorola HT1000, 4 Motorola JT1000s
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 8:16 PM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Global DB Admin/Senior Mod
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 6,480
Default

I would think it would be cheaper and faster to replace the rf board m
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 8:22 PM
gtaman's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 453
Default

A lot of the Jedi series had this issue. Moto issued a fix for them. I can't seem to find the report now but part of the board has to be unsoldered then re soldered . It's a grounding issue with the board. I have an MTS2000 that has this exact same issue.
__________________
Proud owner of a HARRIS FALCON III AN PRC-152 Multiband Radio.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 8:36 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont NE
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeOxlong View Post
I would think it would be cheaper and faster to replace the rf board m
i was thinking about that... Would an RF board out of any jedi series radio with the same frequency range work, or is it more complicated then that?
__________________
Uniden BCD396XT, BCD396T, BC125AT, BC700A, Radio Shack Pro-83, Motorola HT1000, 4 Motorola JT1000s
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 9:34 PM
gtaman's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquierStrat View Post
i was thinking about that... Would an RF board out of any jedi series radio with the same frequency range work, or is it more complicated then that?
Yes that will work. I believe all Jedi RF boards are the same.

Also tuning may be needed after the swap is done.
__________________
Proud owner of a HARRIS FALCON III AN PRC-152 Multiband Radio.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2014, 11:18 PM
MTS2000des's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cobb County, GA PCT 3 Crime Central
Posts: 2,023
Default

Or you can go into RSS on the donor radio, and write down all the softpot values, then transplant the board to the target radio, and enter all the softpot values.

Of course this ASSumes the donor radio was tuned and aligned and operating properly...
__________________
All opinions, statements, posts, or information made public are those exclusively of the author, and not those of his employer, contractors or associates.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions